Which to choose Tamil or Malay subject?

Discussion in 'Schools/Playgroups/Daycares in Singapore' started by farhana, Aug 24, 2014.

1. farhana

farhana Junior IL'ite

I'm a Malaysia Citizen shifted to Singapore. I'm sending my son to Kindergarden 1 this month but i'm little confused whether to choose Malay or Tamil as secondary language. I have a very little knowledge in Tamil language but i'm fluent in Malay as i studied in Malaysia.Most of my relatives choose Tamil language as secondary subject.

What subject should i choose for my son. Please advice.

Thank you,
    Farhana

1 person likes this.

2. isolated

isolated Silver IL'ite

Hmm, what is your "mother tongue"? I would suggest choosing your kid's second language as malay, though hindi might be a better choice when he moves on to primary school. I took Tamil as a second language in school and although it is a beautiful language, I didn't have a pleasant time with the teachers:/ I wish my parents had put made me learn Hindi as a second language lol. At least I would have had a more better experience in my childhood. However, malay is not an Indian language but Hindi still is. Its really up to you anyways:)

3. AkilaMani

AkilaMani Local Champion Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi Farhana,

I am guessing you are a Malaysian Tamil, so are in a dilemma of choosing between Malay and Tamil. It totally depends on you. If you are planning to settle down in SG, then either of the languages are good enough, but if you are planning to move back to Malaysia, I am not entirely sure, but may be Malay would be a better choice. Whatever you choose for him, you can teach him the other language at home :)

Best Wishes!!

4. farhana

farhana Junior IL'ite

My mother tongue is Tamil and i'm a Malaysian Tamil. There is no value for tamil language in Malaysia. I'm scared if i shifted back to Malaysia (as my parents are there), my son will have problem if he choose Tamil.