where are friendly neighbours ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by kiranmadhu, Jan 15, 2010.

1. skchivukula

skchivukula Bronze IL'ite

Dear friends
    I agree with you all. I think this is the impact of IT -people are in continuous stress / pressure and once they are at home they want to stay all alone by themselves and take rest for whatever time is available to them either by sitting in front of TVs or laptops or with ipods and thus giving relaxation to their mind.
    I think gone are those days when people use to have friendly visits to each others houses. Only during festivals like Bhogi or Varalakshmi Vratam or Sravana Mangala Gouri Nomu ladies meet each other that too in a hurry - just rushing.

2. kiranmadhu

kiranmadhu Senior IL'ite

Saipaivani,
    i have heard somebody else from hyderabad say the same thing as you. But i was surprised. I thought in bangalore this is the case as it is more cosmopolitan.

3. kiranmadhu

kiranmadhu Senior IL'ite

skchivukula,
    yes people in IT have no time. So the little time they get is in front of TV or laptop. Socialising happens in the same circle and in get togethers, men tend to talk about work place, project manager, group head etc. :hide:

4. saipavani123

saipavani123 Silver IL'ite

Dear Kiran and Skalluri

Hmm this IT....IT companies do have impact here too... The apts where we stay is nearer to those IT hubs and all the people who stay are working in IT companies. They hardly know each other. they are not 9 to 5 jobs . So people don't mingle .... (yeah i am also the culprit by not making an attempt ...i did 1-2 times but they were not fruitfull :) ). Even if they have those weekends we can find them in malls or multiplexes. There are children in our apts too.... i hardly see them playing in the evening. One-two times while passing through a door i noticed kids playing computer games. [​IMG]. So i don't know who the culprit is. Might be our lifestyles ....and way of dealing

5. saipavani123

Yeah i too noticed this. When i had this managala gouri nomu last year , i struggled to find ladies to give them the offering....and when i found.... everyone was in hurry to go to office....( i saved myself by taking 2 hrs permission).....but i guess even people can't help sometimes...their boss/project manager etc might be strict or something like that......one fine tuesday during this nomu i took 3 hrs...and my boss questioned me why i was taking permission every Tuesday...and i told him about nomu....he gave me bigggggggg lecture about how stupid we are believing all those even in this age of artificial intelligence..... i wanted to answer him back saying its individual's choice of believing or not believing ...but did not!! thinking...its waste of time as he was not ready to listen anything.....

gr8 you people meet during bhogi...... :)...atleast that's there....

Last edited: Feb 1, 2010
  6. saipavani123

But I miss those nostalgic times....where my neighbor aunty was great help for mom/ She used to even take care of us if my mom was out of station for some reason. [​IMG]

7. kiranmadhu

kiranmadhu Senior IL'ite

yes. the lifestyle. can't do much, i guess. another thing, when the child goes to play in the common play area, moms accompany their child/children to protect them. I never remember my mom accompanying me while i played. We all used to play outside or in somebody's house. No mom used to interfere except when it is meal time.

8. kiranmadhu

kiranmadhu Senior IL'ite

can't help it. some think like this.

9. kiranmadhu

kiranmadhu Senior IL'ite

same feelings here. my mom used to leave me and sis with neighbour when she had to go out of station for some family function. there will be some days when some one is sick and some helping hand would be needed. such things were easy to handle with helpful neighbours. I remember when our neighbour's daughter delivered her baby, my sis used to take food for her everyday till she was discharged from hospital.

10. skchivukula

skchivukula Bronze IL'ite

I think gone are those days !
    Here we don't know who our neighbor is ? When we meet either in corridor or lift or gym just each one has a hi that all. People are drifting away from socializing.
    Life is too mechanical, too much pressure and too much of materialism.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2010