What are your plans for this Navratri!!

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by Sindhuja, Sep 5, 2007.

1. amrita.sinha

amrita.sinha Senior IL'ite

Dashera-2008

As we all know that tomorrow is dashera.Lets discuss how will perform dashera in this thread.
    Tomorrow I will wear special saree.In our family we usually perform pooja of our car.So me and my husband will do pooja of our car early in the morning.we will put water in kalash and haldi kuku in thali.Then we break coconut in front of our car as Dashara prasad.Give me more ideas of dashera.

2. amrita.sinha

amrita.sinha Senior IL'ite

In my family we celebrate Navaratri by doing fast.Usually I do first on ekam and astami.I cook Puran pooli(famous maharashtrian dish.I also perform Kanya bhoj.In Kanya bhoj I invite 9 girls for lunch.After lunch I give them coins.

This is how I celebrate Navaratri.Give me more ideas and suggestions for Navratri.

3. latamurali

Re: Kolu 2008

No doubt my dear usha, you are very very very very very very special person to me, i cherish your friendship like anything and i feel that your frienship is most precious gift to me for this birth by our LORD , i mean it

4. swethakrishnan

swethakrishnan Senior IL'ite

Dear Lata Akka

Oh My God!!! Philosophy at its peak ... eh??? Yenne patthi marandhe poitela? Amma is your special friend ... seri ok ... what about me???

:rotflhehehe just pulling your leg!

Regards to Uncle and Krishna.

And plan your Dubai trip soon ... DSF is in Jan!!!

Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  5. MrignayniBansal

MrignayniBansal Senior IL'ite

Re: Dashera-2008

Hey!

I celebrated Dashera something different manner.

We did Car pooja and break Coconut.At our home my brother in law came.
    I cooke puranpoli.
    In the evening we went Ram Mandir.You know what there was Ravan Dahan also.We enjoyed a lot.Now awating eagerly Karwachauth and Diwali.

6. prabhabala

prabhabala Gold IL'ite

hi lata murali,

I kept half the elephants down & didn't post that picture.

we have nearly 100 elephants.........

prabha

7. snigdha.jadhav

snigdha.jadhav New IL'ite

Re: Dashera-2008

Hi ladies,

I went Ram Mandir on Dashera.I would like to share one photo of rawan.

8. vijikrishnan

vijikrishnan Platinum IL'ite

De ar Dear friends,
    All the kolus are very very nice.
    Krithika thanks for staring the thread.
    we all felt as if we visited to everybodys kolu in person. Such a elabarated photos.
    Dear krishnamma yours is such a colourfulkolu. small but cute.
    Prabhabala wow. Super ya. Howmany elephants?
    nice
    Usha you have done like Guruvayrappan. Really very very nice
    chitraji the Thambhathattu looks very nice
    Sowmya Raman your playground is very nice.
    Again Thanks friends for sharing.

9. iyerviji

This year Navratri celebration was very hectic for me. Usually myself
    and my husband both erect the steps. As I have hip bone fracture I
    cant bend and is difficult to fix the steps with nut and bolt.
    So this year I told my husband's friend to come and help in fixing the steps.
    Both my husband and his friend erected the steps on Monday 29th September.
    Later I arranged the dolls. Sideby on the table I kept temple in which
    Lord Ganesha was there with lighting in it. Before the start of Golu
    we purchased pithalai vilakku to give the ladies who came for the golu.
    For children lunch boxes and pencil boxes with eraser put in it. Now
    a days u get varieties of erasers. I gave the children fruit shaped
    erasers. Usually I dont go to invite people. A set of ladies conduct
    devi mahatmyam on the nine days in different houses. When they come
    to my neighbours house I invite them. By 4 p.m. in the evening after
    I offer chundal to Devi I keep the door open and from outside anyone
    can see the golu. We had put lights so from far people say it looks
    vert nice. Since we are in the ground floor people have to pass our
    house. So any sumangali passing our house I invite them. First day
    20 ladies attended the golu. Everyday many ladies and children came
    for the golu. Morning I did archana for Devi and offered sweets.
    Evening chundal. Those who invited me for the golu I went during the
    morning as evening because of golu I could not goout. Since only
    myself and myhusband stay cant lock the house and go. One day during
    navratri the current had gone in the morning and that time instead of
    putting sugar in the sugar container I put half kg rice in that container.
    Later I used that for making payasam. One day I had to boil milk by
    mistake instead of putting the milk in the empty vessel I put the milk
    in the vessel in which I had washed vegetables for avial. Since my
    husband was taking active part in the other programme I had tomanage
    alone. On the 3 days of pooja celebrations of the Committe I was in the
    hall where the celebrations were going on and evening used to come home
    as golu was there and ladies used to come for haldi kumkum. After the
    navratri was over we had to remove the dolls and remove the steps and
    keep it in its place. Surprisingly my husband's friend came and asked
    whether he should help in keeping the dolls in its place and remove the
    steps. I had no words to thank him for his timely help. His name is
    Krishnan. I felt as if Lord Krishna only came and started the navratri
    and during the end also he came to help us. Now waiting for unnikrishnan
    to come to our house. Most of the dolls are given by others only. ONly
    some I have bought myself. Some dolls are fifteen years old. The pair
    of villakku with light in it was given by my daughter in law. I have
    made the temple by keeping Ganesha which has lights in it in the
    casette stand and kept a tomb on top of it.

Last edited: Oct 17, 2008
  10. srividyag

srividyag New IL'ite

All the pictures were very nice.

I would like to post mine too. Any link i should specifically post into?