1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Voluntary work/Community work on H4?

Discussion in 'H4 Indian Ladies' started by deepshikha, Oct 31, 2007.

1. deepshikha

deepshikha Senior IL'ite

Hi friends, anyone here doing voluntary work? Where else can i work apart from the library. Please share your experiences. Do we need to make a resume to apply for voluntary work? I completed my masters in literature before i moved here 8 months back. Can someone suggest what kind of voluntary work i can do .I never worked in India so have no experience .Please guide. Thanks

2. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

Re: Anyone on H4 doing voluntary work?

Hi Deepshikha

Apart from libraries you can work in hospitals (in admin and cerical jobs), or you can work as a virtual guide, work at a senior centre. I have myself worked in a hospital. but there is a committment that you have to make, its like for 3 months, and then its mostly 1-2 days in a week...

~Abha

3. deepshikha

deepshikha Senior IL'ite

Thanks Abha,

Do i need to prepare a resume to apply for voluntary work. Can someone tell what should be included in the resume? Since i have no work experience how can i show that i am the right person for the job? Thanks again.

4. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

Hey

Let me tell you clearly yaar, you dont have to prove any work experience to work as a volunteer... they dont need a resume... they make you fill out a form, they take interviews... but its for time pass, you get the volunteer job anyways... the work generally involves helping the employees, there wud be no specific work created for you... so dont expect too much. they might give you some Calling work, or data entry work very rarely... you can do it for time pass, and in fact you will get bored of it only in a few weeks... i dont want to dampen your spirits but i just want to tell you not to expect too much so as to be disheartened later...

~Abha

5. bipasha

bipasha Senior IL'ite

Hi,