1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Very nice MIL but for one annoying habit

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by PeaceAlways, Apr 19, 2015.

1. PeaceAlways

PeaceAlways Senior IL'ite

Hi,

My inlaws are visiting us for 6 months. This is my first time with them visiting us in USA. They are very nice people, very understanding and all.

Only annoying habit of my MIL is in kitchen. She keeps passing comments on each and everything I do in kitchen. She stands right behind me in the kicthen and keeps prompting when ever I cook. This makes me nervous when I cook in front of her, inadvertently I make mistakes which invites more comments from her. If we get groceries, she needs to discuss each and every grocery where it needs to go and then she will complain that we don't have a pantry closet. She insists that I clean using Indian Broom only. I don't like cleaning using that broom and I don't want to offend her by saying no, so every night while cleaning I get a lecture on how I should clean using the broom... Ahh, I go to office in the morning, when I come to dining room to have a cup of coffee , she won't let me have it in peace. 100 requests regarding kitchen items, plus some comments about my office wear. She insists on bringing all items I rarely use from storage and use it in kitchen. She insists on using certain vessels for certain things strictly. I don't care for lot of things and when she insists, I get annoyed. It has got to a point where I hate going to kitchen when she is there. If I tell her that I can cook alone and she can take rest, she won't listen. She has to come to kicthen and comment on each and everything I do. Don't know what is the solution to the problem. This is only second week, long way to go.

she is a gem of a person, and is very innocent. Tats why she is not able to pick up my subtle signs from me. How do I go about making my point and at the same time not making her feel sad?