1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Varalotti's Speech And Pictures - Part I

Discussion in 'Varalotti Rengasamy's Short & Serial Stories' started by varalotti, Sep 9, 2011.

1. varalotti

varalotti IL Hall of Fame

The Organisers, BAPASI, Mr.Krishnamurthy of NCBH, The two learned men who spoke before me, Dr.Arunagiri and Mr. Nellai Chokkalingam And My Dear Friends,

Let me make it abundantly clear right in the beginning that I am not a poet. Nor can I boast of an exposure to literature, which my predecessors can confidently do. Neither do I hold a Doctorate, nor am I that learned. I am a mere accountant. A Kanakku Pillai

We accountants are always grounded in hard realities. Not only our feet but our thoughts are also firmly embedded on the ground, We are overly practical people.

Imagine a romantic scene. Let’s say it’s the Marina Beach. It’s the evening time. The sun is about to set in the West bathing the water in its reddish hue. A lover is anxiously waiting for his beloved. And there she comes.

She is clad in a gorgeous Kancheepuram silk saree. Her silver anklets announce her arrival from a distance. She blushes a little on seeing her lover. She looks at him, looks down and then walks rhythmically.

The lover raises to welcome her borrowing the words of the Emperor Among Poets, our Kambar.
    [FONT=TSCu_Comic]
    பஞ்சியொளிர் விஞ்சுகுளிர் பல்லவ மனுங்கச்
    செஞ்செவிய கஞ்சநிகர் சீறடிய ளாகி
    அஞ்சொலிள மஞ்சையென அன்னமென மின்னும்
    [/FONT]

I quoted the same verse when I spoke in a college. One of the boys eagerly wrote it down and quoted it verbatim to his lover, with the idea of impressing her.

And he got slapped on his face. You know why? Kambar uses these poetic lines to describe the demoness Surpanaka. And the boy’s lover was a student of Tamil Literature. The boy learnt the bitter lesson – not to quote anything unless you know the meaning and the context.

Sorry for the digression.