Traditional Sweets and Easy to Make Sweets

Discussion in 'Krishnaammas Kitchen' started by krishnaamma, Sep 19, 2007.

1. lmani

lmani Senior IL'ite

Re: Thiratu Pal.

In recipe no.2 it overfows.

2. krishnaamma

krishnaamma Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi Lalitha,

Thanks for your feed back. Each oven is of different capacity. (Wattage) hence keep your power high and reduce the time. And do it a number of times. For example, instead of 2times in two min. keep four times for one min. Ok ?
    And use big vessel.

3. Navpreet

Navpreet Senior IL'ite

Hi krishnamma,
    It's great u had started this thread.It's really amazing and i promise u,i will try ur each receipe.First of all,mysore pak.U hadn't mentioned quantity of water to sugar.I had tried ur Besan Laddu receipe.It was YUMMY! Thanks a lot! Thanks for this thread also.No doubt it's best treat! i ever got.Thank you Krishnamma.:-D .Be prepare b'coz i will try ur receipes and u have to guide me if i went wrong.:2thumbsup: .

4. krishnaamma

HI Navpreet,

Now I mentioned water quantity in the recipe. Thank you for asking about that.I am here to help you. If you try before Deepavali, it will be easy for you to prepare sweets for deepavali with full confidence. :yes:

5. preethi27

preethi27 Senior IL'ite

Krishnaamma,

Now, my mouth starts watering after reading this thread. I Love sweets! Will try soon & give U the feed back. Expecting more from you!! I really dont know to make sweets & prepare sugar syrup. This thread wiill be very useful for me. Thanks a lot :-D

Preethi

6. krishnaamma

Hi Preeti,

Dont worry, go ahead. This is your signature:-D

"When you think 'NOT NOW', Success becomes 'NEVER'. But as soon as you think 'WHY NOT NOW', Success surely will become 'YOURS' :2thumbsup: "

Follow this for preparing sweets too:yes:

7. Navpreet

Navpreet Senior IL'ite

Hi krishnamma,
    Hope u and ur family will be fine.Today i was preparing Kheer so question is related to it.I want to know what else can be added to make it more tasty than dry fruits,cardamom powder,some dry coconut.I had once eaten Kheer prepared by one of Aunty,it was refrigerated and seems she had added flatened rasgullas(as of Ras Malai) in it.Is it possible? Please give ur suggestion or ingredient i can add to make it more tasty.Waiting fo ur reply while eating Kheer.:-D

8. preet663

preet663 New IL'ite

Re: Besan Ki Burfi

Thanks for the recipe and I will and try to make it.

Bye for now.

Preet

9. krishnaamma

Hi Navpreet,

Thanks for asking about my family. Yes we all fine. And now I am in Saudi. How is your family? I think you will start trying 'masal dosa', I answered your question there. go and check.

Regarding 'kheer' which one you prepared? can you give me the recipe?

So that I can tell you more about that and as usual I can start a thread on that.:thumbsup

10. krishnaamma

Badham Halwa

There are many ways to make this Halwa. This Halwa is one of the 'delicious sweets'

Ingredients:

2 cups Almond paste (approx. 250 gms)

2 cups Sugar

1 cup Ghee

A pinch Saffron strands - a pinch

Milk as required for the paste

1/2 tsp Green Cardamom powder

Method:

Soak almonds in the water 2 hours and remove the skin.

Add saffron and blend to a smooth paste adding as little milk as possible.

Put almond paste and sugar in a thick bottomed pan, stir frequently and cook till the mixture thickens and leaves the sides of the pan.

Add powdered cardamom and remove from fire.

Now add the ghee little by little till all the ghee is absorbed.

Cool to room temperature and serve.