Tips on achieving a good work life balance

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by kavya007, Dec 14, 2007.

1. kavya007

kavya007 Gold IL'ite

Hi Folks,

I am a software engineer and the mother of a 15 month old. I always feel guilty that I am not spending quality time with my son. My son is very attached to me and it breaks my heart to see him cry whenever I leave home.
    I have two very bad habits:
    1) At work I do spend considerable time browsing the internet. So as a result my days seem long but less productive.
    2) I tend to get up very late in the morning.
    Any tips on how to achieve work/life balance and improve our productivity.

Sometimes I think of quitting my job. But I don't think I will have the patience to spend my whole day with my son. I feel that at least 2-3 hours of play school will do him good.

I would prefer a part time job but it seems tough to get a part time job in the software industry. My previous boss did not allow me to work part time and I don't think my current boss would also allow me. Do you think it is worth to take a break for 1-2 years before getting back into the job market. Has anyone of you in the US done that?

Ladies please share your thoughts.

Thanks,
    Kavya.

2. Aarushi

Aarushi Platinum IL'ite

Hi Kavya,

How about working from home 1-2 days a week? Maybe you can talk to your boss about letting you work from home 1 day in the beginning.

I work from home a couple of days a week and thereby can spend more time with my baby.

It took a while to convince my bosses but after they noticed that my productivity had not declined, they were ok with it.

Of course it also depends on the fact whether your work can be done remotely or not.

If this does not work, then try finding a job that fits your needs more closely..i.e. part time work etc.

hope this helps,

love,
    Aarushi

3. kavya007

kavya007 Gold IL'ite

Hi Aarushi,