1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

The Man who swallowed HIM

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by gopalan1937, Nov 5, 2008.

1. gopalan1937

gopalan1937 Silver IL'ite

Year 1976. Time around 8 AM. Emergency wing of a large Govt general hospital down south. I was a trainee anesthetist then. A middle aged man was wheeled inside He was in great distress. He had labored breathing and his voice was only in whispers.

Relatives nearby when questioned stated all was well till two hours back. After a hurried breakfast, he hastened on foot to catch a bus to nearby town. Within five minutes of leaving the house, he seemed to have developed a chocking sensation and breathing problems and returned back home. Alarmed relatives rushed him to the hospital, where I first examined him.

An alert was sounded and the area became a beehive of activity. Bed side X rays and an ECG were taken .Oxygen was administered as an emergency measure. X-Ray revealed the presence of a tiny foreign body in the throat . Patient was immediately transferred to EOT (emergency operation theatre), where an Ear, Nose and Throat surgeon attempted direct visualization of throat and removal of the foreign body. Since the patient’s breathing became worse, surgeon had to abort the procedure and to save the life of the patient he did what is known as “Tracheotomy” (an opening in the wind pipe through the neck). Patient showed temporary relief.

Those days scans were not available and we had to depend only on X-Rays. Repeat X-Rays were taken. The foreign body seemed to have shifted its position to chest cavity. Though the breathing improved, he was in agonizing pain. Team of surgeons and physicians reexamined him and opined that the foreign body was stuck in food pipe. Attempted removal of the same through what is known as endoscopic procedure (simple procedure) failed as the foreign body was found to be anchored to walls of food pipe.