The Divorce Planner

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Balajee, Jul 18, 2024.

1. Balajee

What do you do with so much money? Amnd that too quite a lot of it from defaulted and written off bank loans ? I think threy themselves are clueless . That is why Nita Ambani never repeats the same set of cloths again?(What does she do with them? Sell them in second-hqand clothes stores?) With so much money. With that kind of money you can provide free schooling and quality healthcare to lot of people. People less wealthy than Ambanis do it. Azim Premjeer once India's richest man, does it through his foundation. In US Warren Buffet leads an austere life and spends his money on charity. There are lot of sterling examples the Ambanis could follow,

not

Viswamitra likes this.
  2. Rihana

Citing the example of Birlas and Tatas reminds me of parents or neighbor or uncle aunty who tell a less than ideal child, "Why can't you be more like your sister/ brother? Look at him/her." Such comparison is wrong on so many counts.

Now you have taken the words right out of my mouth.

Strongly prescribing how others should spend their excess wealth, free time, empty house, unused vehicles, life savings or any other resources is plain wrong.

I would not tell my friend in India who is spending $80k USD per year on her child's U.S. undergrad that she should not splurge like that, any regular college is also good enough for undergrad. I would not tell my school seniors who are now retired and waste their whole day that they should go teach in poor schools. These people too can make an immense difference in the world.

It is natural to think that if someone is rich, richer or doing well in life, it is OK to criticize their choices, actions and decisions. Happens across the spectrum. The richer child is criticized for not giving enough to siblings, the richer industrialist is criticized for not giving enough to poor.

Thank you. Middle class people save and splurge lakhs or crores on child's education or wedding. And then turn around and say the more rich should be more charitable.

If someone shares their wealth with the needy, it is commendable. If someone does not or shares less, that is fine too.

I guess it is easier to opine on the super rich, gives a nice righteous fuzzy warmth. It is not as much "feel good" feeling to say the same about those who are at the same of wealth as us.

3. Balajee

"Splurging" means wasteful expenditure.. Spending on your kid's quality education is not wasteful. When someone is wallowing in wealth you expect some kind of social responsibility from them, And understated wealth is a classic sign of elegance. I have no objection to obscene spending. After all, it is not my mmoney but let us look at possible social and economic consequences, shall we? Nobody resents tat or Birla's wealth. Or even that of techie giantsa like Premji or Naryana Murthy. They don't scream from rooftops that they are rich. Such flaunting of wealth will only feed the undercurrent of resentment in the society and if it bursts open it can have disastrous consequences.

Viswamitra likes this.
  4. Balajee

Viswa having a temple or even a puja room in your home does not mean you are a good person. Super rich like Ambani are an insecure lot. The more they climb, the more they fear a great fall. Thew higher they reach the fear mclimbs in their minds too of their companies tanking, their share prices crashing . Religion feeds on fear, guilt and insecurity. So does it surprise you that they have a temkple at home? As for the girl, I don't think she would face the kind of controls Brit royals face. She is a heiress too and is educated . Any attempt to thumb her down I am sure , will be resisted.

Viswamitra likes this.
  5. satchitananda

satchitananda Finest Post Winner

Interesting conversation. Very honestly, have been quite ignorant about the goings on. When i heard of the Jamnagar bash, I thought that was THE wedding. Was surprised to know it was not yet over when they went to Italy and raised many Italian hackles. I thought we would now have to wait for the godbharai or birth of the next in the lineage. But no. I am surprised to hear that there is more coming in London. Is that the end? I really don't know. All I can say is that I hope the couple lives happily ever after all this.

To be honest, I do find all this opulence off-putting. No, I am not jealous. If anything, I can't help feeling sorry for people who have to work out how and where to blow up all that money. They seem to own an akshaypatra which it always running over.

I did not watch the wedding videos ..... a lot more interesting stuff to watch. But the Anthill in Mumbai ..... the mind-blowing amount spent on it has resulted in nothing worth looking at. Lack of taste. It looks like a pile of badly arranged matchboxes about to fall off.

Much of our disapproval stems from beliefs deeply ingrained in our childhood. Too much money is bad. So much money cannot be earned honestly. Money is the source of all evils .... and so on and so forth. Were they right? I don't know. Were they wrong? I don't know. It does not matter, because I am comfortably off and satisfied the way I am.

That being as it is, do I have a right to be judgmental about their wealth or actions? None of my business. I only wish I had never looked at a picture of the anthill.

Rihana, Balajee and Viswamitra like this.
  6. Balajee

Sqatchi, a very balanced view. That Anthill; is an ode to not just bad taste but to nauseating sick taste. There are super rich who mdon't obscenely flaunt ther wealth like Ambanis. Even the much talked about Adani fmily is understated. Traditional rich like Birlas and Tatas don't splurge like this. Only parvenus like Ambanis behave like Delhi's nouveau rich who are eager to get their farmhouse weddings on Page3

satchitananda and Viswamitra like this.
  7. Balajee

Tyagu sir, the marriage juggernaut cont9inues to roll even after the marriage, It doesn't seem to have any brakes, The latest is Ambqnis have booked a seven star hotel in London for a month, yes, to celenrate the marriage!

Thyagarajan and satchitananda like this.
  8. Thyagarajan

Thyagarajan Finest Post Winner

I wish Ambanis celebrated the after WEDLOCK in any Indian five star hotel, it would hv benefitted the exchequer in swelling foreign exchange reserve. & $ would still be cheap for our imports and steady gains to exporters. But ate we discussing on this thread celebration of separation or the WEDLOCK?

Balajee likes this.