The Divorce Planner

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Balajee, Jul 18, 2024.

1. Balajee

"It is a real honor to meet you Mr.Motani. What can I do for you?
    "I want you to plan and organize my son's divorce celebrations. But first promise me that you don't have a weak heart. The last divorce planner fainted and died of shock when he heard my budget"

"I have a stronger heart Mrt.Motani. Nothing surprises me in this profession. Tell me your budget"

: Rs 1,000 crores heave been put aside for the celebrations. I want TTHE BEST for my son. I want it to be an affair to remember"

"It will be Mr. Motani. Let us start with Gold painted invite:AKHAND DIVORCES PADUKA"

"tHAT IS IT ! I want the best for my kid. Spare no expense. It should be a divorce to remember for decades. , even centuries.. :

"Thankls for patronizing my company, Mr.Motani. But may I ask why such an ado about divorce? You company but you could easily have gone to a family court and ..."

WHADDYAMEAN?????? rEMEMBER YOU ARE TALKING TO DUKESH MOTANI!!!! It is a matter of prestige man! That court bus9iness would be the last step but before that the grand celebrations. Whir will the world think if it is just a simple divorce like some middle class couple?"

"Right . We will write with golden letters in India's history. May I have some suggestions? Do we invite Bollywood stars for performances during celebrations.?"

"BOLLYWOOD!! WHO DO YOU THINK IAM? CALL HOLLYWOOD STARS FOR NAACH-GAANA. CALL JUSTIN BIEBER, ADELE, LADY GAGA, THE KARDESHIANS AND WHAT IS THE NAME OF THE GUY WHO WON OSCAR FOR OPPENHEIMER? BOOJ THEM ALL FOR ENTERTAINMENT"

" "I don't know whether the Oscar winner could sing or dance sir. As for the Kardeshians, they are totally bereft of any talent"

"Never mind Even if they run around like headless chickens people would think it is a performance. As for Bollywood stars, they can be part of the divorce procession to the court dancing all the way while the prospective divorcees will fly over them in helicopters, separate choppers of course."

And the couple can also have a photoshoot with either glaring at each other or their faces turned away from each other"

"Splendid idea sir. We will have the media eating out of our hands with such pics and videos"

"At last you are getting the gist of the matter"

"But may I caution you sir, the divorce celebrations should not last too long. My last clients had such a long period of festivities that when they ended and time to go to court came, they found that they had ended up becoming parents of two kids. And may I ask you what is the reason the couple are parting ways . if I am not getting too personal"

"Aw it is nothing. Without divorce , I cannot have another wedding celebration for my son, right?After all bigmy and polygamy are frowned upon. How else will I splurge my billions?"

2. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Finest Post Winner

Good idea. If weddings can be celebrated, divorces should be celebrated equally if not more. If one can celebrate accepting a life partner even before knowing him or her, the celebration should be more and more after gaining wisdom of knowing.

P. S. - I guess that the wedding that is making the news these days has more to do with emotions than anything else. The bridegroom has passed through a very difficult life, heavy medications, ups and downs and so on. Thankfully, he got an understanding partner and the parents wanted to make it an everlasting event to please him and of course themselves. Best wishes to them.

Last edited: Jul 19, 2024
    Balajee and Thyagarajan like this.
  3. Thyagarajan

Thyagarajan Finest Post Winner

Media celebrates by announcing in good time the separation - i mean Divorce - between the cricketer Pandia and his actress wife. They mutually agreed and the world of cricketers read the message in media. Those who were jealous of Pandiya married to the actress seemed to rejoice at their announcement of divorce.

It was said decades ago Hollywood used to announce celebration of divorce between the popular acting couples invariably connected to box office or magnum opus movies. Morning they announce marriage and the very next day news of their separation used to be headlines in NY Times. Is it not penetrating news!

Statutory provisions would be in order to compel celebration of every divorce irrespective of whether it affects or effects GDP of the Nation.

Last edited: Jul 19, 2024
    HariLakhera and Balajee like this.
  4. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Finest Post Winner

Jangal me More Naacha, kisi ne an dekha,
    (The peacock dances in the forest but no one watches)
    What is the use?

5. gamma50g

gamma50g Gold IL'ite

On the positive side, women are no longer bound to suffer in silence in a miserable marriage. Divorce is not considered as much of a social stigma as much as it was earlier (though we still have a long way to go!).

Daughters are assets, source of strength, support and joy for any parent and seeing one's daughter suffer in front of their own eyes is no longer ignored by her parents any more and nor do her parents tell her to 'adjust'.

I read at least a few articles every year about how a parent goes with band baaja to pick up his daughter from a miserable union and bring his ghar ki Lakshmi back to their home with pomp and joy. This is definitely a step forward in a positive direction.

Rihana, Thyagarajan and Balajee like this.
  6. Thyagarajan

Thyagarajan Finest Post Winner

The hardship the young girl suffers is traumatic and as @Gamma put it there is a vast change in mentality of her parents into more "get Adjusted". Girls are turning more and more educated and professional and they no longer stay in miserable marriage. Joint family set up already almost disintegrated all over. Even mutual divorces have become norm of the day.
    I have narrated the experience of one such girl from the moment the nuptial knot tied in her first marriage in link;
    Getti Melam - Supraja - An Apple Of My Eye

7. Balajee

Hariji, as dar as the wedding that is making the news iws concerned. it reminds me only of the line:"In amiron ne daulat ka sahara le kar, hum garibon ke mohabbat ko udaya hai mazaak (These rich using thei4r weaalth have mocked the love of us poor). But I must b3e grateful to that wedding. After alll it inspired this thread!

HariLakhera likes this.
  8. Balajee

Precisely Tyagu sir. Those who splurge on marriages must be forced to splurge on divorces resulting from unstable marriages

9. Balajee

Parents go with band baaja to pick up daughters from her divorced/separated husbands' home? Wow@ looks like reality gas overtaken my imagination! That must be ordinary middle class marriages. Mega marriages with a bufget of hundreds of crores deserve a mega budget sp3ectacular divorces,

gamma50g and Thyagarajan like this.
  10. Swetha52003

Swetha52003 Gold IL'ite

Oh come on Balaji, why so much divorce talks? The couple has just started their life! But, yes, I agree with you , the almost 1 year pre wedding celebrations were a bit too much!

Having said that I really really admire that lovely bride for keeping her energy up all this time, dancing, non stop smiling,still appear beautiful and elegant all the while! I honestly think she is lovely! Yes she has money, but it still takes a lot of work? I genuinely wish happiness for the couple just as I wish for every newly married :)

Yes, it was show off, no doubt ! But no matter how much it surprises me to see this spectacle, I think Ambanis are neither responsible for the widespread inequality in the country nor are they bound to reduce it ! Infact when I see all the celebrities that come to all their children’s weddings, what I think is there must be something more to it than just a show off. They are clever business people, it must be about soldering connections among high profile people which can be further beneficial for their future goals. After all they are where they are now because of the successful strategic visions of their great ancestor who started just as a clerk in Yemen!

Amma15, Thyagarajan and Rihana like this.