1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

The changing scenario in our Madras, nalla Madras !

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Chitvish, Nov 12, 2007.

1. Chitvish

Chitvish Moderator IL Hall of Fame

I am now a resident of Chennai, previously called Madras for the past forty plus years.
    I feel like crying out

"Madras, you have come a long way, in becoming Chennai !"

In my younger days in Madras, the vegetable selling was generally done by vendors, who would come home in the mornings. We used to buy fresh vegetables everyday and do the cooking. There was a standard “Keeraikari” for every street – you could buy any variety of keerai for your asking ! Cauliflower and capsicum had just made their entry. Only Nattu thakkali was used for cooking. Bangalore tomatoes were never brought by street or cart vendors !

Going to Panagal Park by car to buy vegetables was considered “posh shopping” by the select few, who could afford it. The middle class always preferred the local area markets like Thannithurai in Luz, Chithiraikulam in Mylapore, New Zanda Market in Triplicane etc. For bulk purchase for functions, we used to go to Kothwal Savadi !

Till recently, this was the scenario. But now, what a great change!

We have exclusive shopping centres for fruits and vegetables called Spencer’s Daily, Reliance Fresh, Subiksha, More For You, Pazamuthir Solais, Farmfresh, Fresh @ Mylapore (and other local areas) – the list is increasing steadily almost on a weekly basis.

More varieties of vegetables are available now, Broccoli, Brussel Sprouts, red and yellow capsicums, artichoke,zucchini,are all available not to miss out on celery, Chinese Cabbage, mushrooms, violet cabbage, lettuce etc.

The stocks look so fresh, cleaned and arranged attractively, that you just feel like buying all of them, without losing out on any.