Taking care of Pregnant SIL and baby after delivery

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by sunikrishnan4u, Feb 11, 2008.

1. sunikrishnan4u

sunikrishnan4u New IL'ite

Hi,

I am relatively new to posting in this website. I have a question, my BIL and Co-Sister, husband's brother & wife, are pregnant with their second child. As no one is coming from India to help them during delivery, I have offered my help. Though I will have to stay away from my DH for the first time in 2 years :(, planning to go for almost one month, to look after the first nephew, and do cooking etc.

As I am pretty new to pregnancy, I am not pregnant yet and dont have sisters etc. I dont know how to take care of her and the baby. Can u guys shed some light as how to take care of both of them? She had a fight with her emotions as part of post partum depression during her first delivery. Will this be repeated second time also? If so how can I help her in the situation? I am not nervous about the situation, I am collecting as much information as possible in case it makes me of a better help :). What all preparations can be done to ease her work, even after me coming back after 3-4 weeks? I plan to make day to using pastes in bulk and store them in the freezer etc. but anything else? Please .....

Thanks
    Suni

Last edited: Feb 11, 2008

2. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi Suni,
    I am really pleased to see you that you want to help your Co-sister.
    It should not be much problem to you, When you have a positive thoughts of helping.
    Co-sis :
    Not sure whether you will be visiting her before her delivery or after delivery.
    If it is before deliver, you can take care of the older kid at nights and prepare food for her.
    I am sure hospital food won't be sufficient for her.
    Try to give her fresh food, with less spicy and avoid too much lentils.
    If she has normal delivery, it should not be much problem to your co-sis to take care of herself.