1. What Movie Did You Watch Today? : Post Here
    Dismiss Notice

Sujatha, the unforgettable Tamil Icon

Discussion in 'Movies' started by rvnachar, Mar 6, 2008.

1. rvnachar

rvnachar Silver IL'ite

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    SUJATHA, THE UNFORGETTABLE TAMIL ICON<o:p></o:p>
    For Tamil readers, Sujatha was like a member of their own families. Sujatha was the pen name of Sri Rangarajan, the popular Tamil author, who passed away recently at the age of seventy two years.
    Sri Rangarajan, who was a scientist by profession, having graduated from St.Joseph’s College, Trichy and completing his post graduation in Electronics from the Madras Institute of Technology, Chennai, took up writing from his college days. He was a classmate of the former President Dr.Adbul Kalam at Trichy.
    His service in BEL, <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:City><st1:place>Bangalore</st1:place></st1:City> was very noteworthy. He headed the team that first introduced electronic voting machines to <st1:country-region><st1:place>India</st1:place></st1:country-region> and was rightly honoured with the VASWIK award. Besides, he was also honoured by the National Council for Science and Technology for popularizing science among the public through media. The Government of Tamilnadu honoured him with the Kalaimamani award. These are but just dry facts about the writer. But his achievements in the Tamil literary world are astounding.