1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Study on H4 Visa

Discussion in 'H4 Indian Ladies' started by alkaroy, Feb 20, 2010.

1. alkaroy

alkaroy New IL'ite

Hi All,

The forum gave me some very useful information on pursuing higher studies in USA on H4 visa.
    I would request anyone to please clarify few of my doubts regarding the same.
    My husband is in Austin, Texas. I have H4 visa, but am in India as of now. I have a degree in B.E. and have been working in a top Indian IT firm for 3 years now.I am preparing for GMAT and will give the exam along with TOEFL sometime in July. McCombs School Of Business is the college that I am interested in. I will be eligible for in state tuition fees as per the McCombs website. My current company will give me around USD 5000 and 2 years of leave without pay.

1) Is it advisable to study MBA on H4 or F1 given that I will not be able to work on H4 but can claim in state tuition fee.
    2) Can I apply for any type of Scholarship on H4?
    3) I would like to study on visa through which I can have maximum benefit on the fees as I will not be earning at all and my husband will have to pay for the MBA.
    4) The in state tuition on the McCombs web site is $ 28500 pa. Please tell me if I can claim scholarship and reduce the total amount further.

PLEASE GUIDE!!! :drowning

Thanks,
    Alka

PLEASE GUIDE

2. Ranchu

Ranchu Local Champion Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Alka,

Since you are in india, you have the advantage of applying for F1 visa. Try coming in with that visa that is the maximum advantage for you.
    if god forbid (* touchwood *) your visa does not go well , then claim in-state fee and come as H4.
    answering your questions ;
    1) Is it advisable to study MBA on H4 or F1 given that I will not be able to work on H4 but can claim in state tuition fee.