Special shlokas for specific purposes

Discussion in 'Pujas Prayers & Slokas' started by Chitvish, Apr 7, 2006.

1. anjana

anjana Bronze IL'ite

Dear Mrs CV,
    I follow your cooking thread keenly,but did not overlook slokam thread.I am still printing and putting them together so I can do daily pooja. This way my children can also learn some special ones other than the two-liners that they say.

I was wondering if you have any specific slokam for eye surgery since my father will be having one shortly. Living so far away this is the best I can do.Thanks in advance. You are really admirable.

Love and regards,
    Anjana

2. Chitvish

Anjana, please refer back.

In this thread, I have given shlokas specially for eye problems. You may chant any of them. My prayers to God for your father's successful surgery & convalescence.
    Love & regards,

3. meenaprakash

meenaprakash Silver IL'ite

need help..

Dear Chitra,

was going thru Vishnu sahasranamam, could you pls tell me what does the numerical at the beginning of each shloka, stand for???

4. meenu

meenu Bronze IL'ite

sorry for butting in

Dear Meena,
    the numbers indicate sloka number in Vishnu sahasranaamam. I think she has given the number for easy reference.
    Meenu

Last edited: Apr 11, 2006
  5. Chitvish

Sudarshana shloka for Destruction of Enemies

My Guru says that the word "enemies" means not only from outside but enemies within ourselves - anger, hurt, lust, guilt, greed , ego, arrogance etc. All the negative qualities, we possess are our enemies ! This shloka is specially for external & internal enemies.

Sudars(h)ana mahaavishno paahimaam s(h)aranaagatham
    Chakra raaja bhajaamithvaam aayuraarogya siddhayae
    Krishna krishna mahaayogin bhakthaanaam abhayamkara
    Govinda paramaanando sarvammae vas(h)amaanaya
    Om namo bhagavathae mahaa sudars(h)anaaya mahaachakra deepajvalinae deeparoopaaya oordhva jvalakaes(h)aaya brahma vishnu rudra roopinae pralayaagni sama chakraaya bheemajyothi roopinae maam raksha raksha maam sakutumbam raksha raksha mama s(h)athroon baadhakaamscha bhakshaya bhakshaya dhushta grahaan hana hana hum phat svaahaa
    ஸுத(3)ர்ச(H)ன மஹாவிஷ்ணோ பாஹிமாம் ச(H)ரணாக(3)தம்
    சக்ரராஜ ப(4)ஜாமித்வாம் ஆயுராரோக்(3)ய ஸித்(3)த(4)யே
    க்ருஷ்ண க்ருஷ்ண மஹாயோகி(3)ன் ப(4)க்தானாம் அப(4)யம் கர
    கோ(3)விந்த(3) பரமானந்தோ(3) ஸர்வம்மே வச(H)மானய

ஓம் நமோ ப(4)க(3)வதே மஹா ஸுத(3)ர்ச(H)னாய மஹாசக்ர தீ(3)பஜ்வலினே
    தீ(3)பரூபாய ஊர்த்(4(வ ஜ்வலகேசா(H)ய ப்(3)ரஹ்ம விஷ்ணு ருத்(3)ர ரூபிணே
    ப்ரலயாக்(3)னி ஸமசக்ராய பீ(4)மஜ்யோதி ரூபிணே
    மாம் ரக்ஷ ரக்ஷ மாம் ஸகுடும்ப(3)ம் ரக்ஷ ரக்ஷ
    மம ச(H)த்ரூன் பா(4)த(4)காம்ஸ்ச ப(4)க்ஷய ப(4)க்ஷய
    து(3)ஷ்ட க்(3)ரஹான் ஹன ஹன ஹும் பட் ஸ்வாஹா

Love & regards,

Last edited: Oct 27, 2007
    geevee68 likes this.
  6. Vidya24

Vidya24 Gold IL'ite

Dear Mrs Chithra

Very happy to see this Sudarshana slokam. Chakkarthazhwar is one of my favourite entities.

What u have mentioned abt 'inner enemies' is so correct. I also learnt recently that the 'maha shatru vinashanam' as the effect of chanting certain slokams pertains to destroying inner ego and arogance.

Please convey our respects to your Poojya Guru also.

respectful regards
    Vidya

7. Chitvish

This shloka is from Trivandrum !

Dear Vidya,
    This shloka was taught to me by my mother. When she was young, my grandfather taught her this ! Now I am learning the " tatparyam" of shlokams from my gurus !
    Love & regards,
    chithra.

geevee68 likes this.
  8. Vidya24

Vidya24 Gold IL'ite

Well, no wonder!

Dear Mrs C,

No wonder the Sudarshan slokam sounded so special! Be it women or slokams, TVM is special.

Thanks to your mother and grand father.

Can you please tell me what is meant by 'tatparyam' of a slokam?

I have one more request also. I read a mssg today saying that all aastikas should know punyahavana mantram/slokam. For people like me, we have no access to kovil punyaham or that made at home. And as you know, it is convenient to have some holy water at hand to sprinkle round the house, groceries and clothes. Like a magician pulling out white rabbits, can you pull out a method and chant for this.

Thanks for ever
    warm regards
    Vidya

9. sunkan

hai folks how abt the site for sloka

hai folks try this site.....www.sloka.com damn good....may answer all ur queries...regards..sunkan

geevee68 likes this.
  10. anjana

anjana Bronze IL'ite

Thanks Mrs CV

I did manage to find the slokams after intense searching. Will chant everyday. Thanks for your quick response. I too hope it all goes well.

Anjana.