1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Single male, new to US, never cooked before, in dire need of help...!

Discussion in 'Indians in Miami' started by astroseeker, Jul 26, 2009.

1. astroseeker

astroseeker New IL'ite

Dear forum members,

As my post title explains, I am new to the US, and in fact, have never been more than 2 hrs from my mother in the past.,..! (How I miss her..!) I am from good old Chennai (I like Madras better...!)

My biggest problem is - food. I want to eat typical South Indian dishes, at least once a day, for dinner at least. Cereal and Sandwiches for breakfast and lunch is OK, but for dinner, I hope to eat something I'm used to all my life.

I have never been inside the kitchen. So the problem compounds itself. My needs are,

1. Finding an Indian grocery store in NY, closest to where I live which is 49th street, 9th ave, Brooklyn, NY. I have no car, and need to use the subway.

2. deciding what I need to buy and how much of it. I don't want to buy too much, and waste it because it got spoiled. Especially what rice comes closest to the parboiled (puzhungal) rice, that i am used to.

3. What utensils I need, and what sizes.

3. and also, some recipes - Sambhar, Rasam, some vegetable dishes, Dhal kozhambu, idli, coconut chutney - for basic South Indian dishes.

If some of the more experienced members of this forum can help me overcome my gastronomic problems I will be most grateful.

Thanks.

2. madhumathi1974

madhumathi1974 Bronze IL'ite

Hi astroseeker,

I think you can post your need in US forum, iam sure that you will get reply very early too. as there are many southindians there.

madhu.

3. gokusha

gokusha IL Hall of Fame

Hi astroseeker,

Please check cookery section,you got wonderful Chitvish amma's recipes,or try to google cooking blogs, where you can find many recipes with snaps& in some even you will get step-by-step snaps tooo....