1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Should DH visit SIL or not?

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by amalady, Apr 19, 2010.

1. amalady

amalady New IL'ite

Dear ladies,
    I have been reading the posts out here and taking advices, though I have never written before this. I am a working professional, married for 7 years.
    I, DH and lil one of 4.5 years live together in our house, in the same city as my in-laws. My FIL passed away long back, and MIL stays with younger BIL, his wife, and lil one of 6 months. I have a sil too, who is settled in US, with her family (She does not work.).
    I have issues with my il-laws, though they arent too serious, and always go there/ meet with them in my DH's presence, because of their peculiar nature (MIL's) of making up false allegations and stories.
    My DH is to travel in May, to US for 3 months.
    My sil had been here for 4 months, with her daughter (she went back in April first week.)
    The last time my DH went to US (work-related), he had been to sil's house too (He had been to Pheonix, and she stays in Illinois.), and she tried creating a lot of misunderstandings between the both of us. Otherwise my hubby's siblings have not been close to him at all. After my sil leaves to US, its like we totally have no contact with her/ her family.
    My question is, do I need to request him not to visit her? It may be my insecurity, but, I dread she will again try to create misunderstandings between us. As is, our marital life has not been too good, and for the past one year we have been kind of happy. Also, he has not yet told me whether he plans to visit her or not.
    Please advise?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 19, 2010

2. asuitablegirl

asuitablegirl Gold IL'ite

Re: Rgdg DH's US visit