Shopping Baby Things Before Due Date

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by sandhyapratheep, Mar 15, 2015.

1. sandhyapratheep

sandhyapratheep New IL'ite

Hi All,

I'm new to IL and am due on May 8th. My question, is it okay to shop for baby before Due date, i stay in US and my mom is coming here next week, so i asked her to buy some summer dresses and other stuffs which are not available here.

2. CrayoNess

CrayoNess Platinum IL'ite

Of course it is OK and a good mom-to-be prepare in advance. At least the basic stuff like clothes (not too much as the baby will grow fast), crib and sheets etc, a stroller (or a sling if you plan to carry your baby). Diapers (small size, disposables and non-disposables depending on your preference), tiny nail scissors, baby wipes. Depending on the time of the year outside clothes like hats, gloves (the cute small one), overalls. Do not buy too much at this stage as a newborn does not need so much and you do not yet know your preferences.

Buy for your self sanitary pads (the biggest size you can get :p), bf bras, pads for the bra, some very comfy big size undies, nighties/tops that easy to unbutton for breastfeeding.

It will take a few days after you are back from the hospital before you are ready to hit the malls so get now in advance what the baby needs.

And of course the baby seat for the car.

3. armummy

armummy Platinum IL'ite

In early days due to lack of good medical facilities they avoided shopping for baby stuff to avoid disappointment in case of tragedy.

we have much medical services now, it is ok to buy basic things which are needed .

but don't spend a fortune on baby things because babies outgrow stuff at an alarming speed.

4. Rakhii

Rakhii Moderator IL Hall of Fame