Shivarathri / Mahashivrathiri festival

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by sonu_627, Feb 22, 2006.

1. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Re: Celebrating Shivarathri in USA!!

Thanks Subha, Madhu for your FB.
    Thanks AC for detailed information!!

2. padija

padija Senior IL'ite

Re: Celebrating Shivarathri in USA!!

wow wow puni, those pics are really something, she has done a wonderful job. Lord Shiva must have been very impressed, i loved it .

3. MrignayniBansal

MrignayniBansal Senior IL'ite

Hello Ladies,

Hurray! Shivratri is on 23 feb 2009.

you know what my Husband has also same birth date.
    No doubt he is true avtaar of Lord Shiva.
    EVery girl do pooja of Shivji so that she get nice husband like shiv ji.
    Maine to mere Shivji paa liye.

What about you ladies?

4. subhichaudhri

subhichaudhri New IL'ite

Hi Mrignayni,

I am glad to hear that your hubby's b'day is on Shivji's Birthdate.
    It is rarely happen.
    So celebrate it.
    Do fast for both Shiv Ji and Your husband.
    And Don't forget to do Shiv Bhagwaan Pooja.

Once more Congrats,

5. bchandra2008

bchandra2008 Bronze IL'ite

I am reposting what sonu_627 has posted last year for tomorrows festival';;

Many temples perform rudra-abhishek throughout the night starting from 9 pm and ending on 6 am on 24-2-2009

Do go to those temples and participate and watch as long as you can

all the best

chandra

The devotees of Lord Shiva should preferably do the following things on this day.

1. Observe fast on this day, taking only fruits & milk.

2. Perform elaborate puja of Lord Shiva, and perform Rudrabhisheka. Chant various hymns & bhajan of Lord Shiva.

3. Chant the mantra ‘Om Namah Shivaya’ as many times as you can.

4.Practice Dhyana for longer periods than the usual routine.

5.Remain more introvert on this day contemplating about the truths of life.

6.Do for darshan of Lord Shiva where he is properly & regularly worshipped.

7.Try to get darshan & satsang of some learned Mahatmas. Offer sewa at Ashrams & Temples.

6. roopanair123

roopanair123 Gold IL'ite

Hi puni,

the picture was really superb...Thanks for sharing...and truly said "God resides within everyone..we can remember and pray to god anywhere, anytime...Its just a matter of belief..if you believe god exists, god can be found in any manner...

Rgds

Roopa

7. sumasandeep

sumasandeep Silver IL'ite

Wishing you all A very HAppy Mahashivarathri 23rd 2009 Monday

8. hari2002

hari2002 New IL'ite

Does anybody know how long we have to do fasting?

9. Saisakthi