1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

School hood memoirs

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by kanaka Raghavan, Aug 8, 2007.

1. kanaka Raghavan

kanaka Raghavan IL Hall of Fame

I just wanted to share my school day memories.I studied in Mani high school in Coimbatore,it was the best school in coimbatore then.It was a co ed school.We had 2 big playgrounds,a huge lab,library stacked with nearly 10,000 books,.The entire school had lots of trees.There was a Ganesha temple in the front.
    The annnual Republic day and Independence parade were really a treat to watch.There was annual kamban festival as well.These days were much awaited ones as we could cut classes......
    We had 1/2 hr in the morning and 1/2 hr in the evening .This period was called silence period during which we could do anything like finishing homework ,reading books,or dozing off....but everything should be done in perfect silence.
    The teaching was excellent.But I always had a tough time with Mathematics.It was a nightmare to me.My brother used to slog and teach me.As soon I came out of the Maths exam,When comparing my answers with my friends, to my dismay ,I usedto find almost all my answers wrong..I was scared of my brother ,so I used to write all answers from a good student,and take it home.My brother used to be immensely pleased.But you should see his face and my father's on the day I take my report card.I once managed to get even 7 out 100!!!!!.Finally managed get 70 in my tenth.Afterwards it was farewell to Maths.
    Farewell was a grand event.So was the annual abshikam done by each class for the Ganesha temple in the front.Monday and weekend assemblies were really wonderful inspite of standing in the hot sun and getting knocks from our games teacher for chatting..........
    I managed to visit my school several years back.Had fond memories while walking down the avenue of Asoka trees...........................

2. Nivedi