Resuming career after a gap..whats the best way to deal this?

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by sumalb, Mar 13, 2013.

1. sumalb

sumalb Senior IL'ite

Hi,
    I am planning to resume my career after a gap of 1 year. I have over 5 years of experience before I quit.
    My questions are:
    1. Is it better not to mention the gap in resume, to get calls and reveal it later to HR when I get calls, or when I reach to final discussion, After all they make out that I don't work when they ask for compensation, joining period etc.
    2. Is it better to mention in resume, then I presume I may get less calls, and loose opportunity to even show my skills in interview.
    whats the best way to deal this? I don't want them to be surprised later!
    Thanks.

Last edited: Mar 13, 2013

2. lakshya1234

lakshya1234 Silver IL'ite

I feel u should tell them abt the gap u have in ur career...
    It's pretty much casual in a women's life to hav a year gap ... u can tel themm that u took a brk for TTC or to get settled in new place or after marriage ...
    If ur previous exp is genuine, then they might consider it and leave abt the gap. In some cases they give more importance to the ppl who are ready to join within 15 days or so. Don't tell them that u r not working currently, but when they ask u abt the notice period then tell them u r ready to join... if they extend the topic, then u can go into deep and tell them abt the gap.
    Its purely my point of view though... let's see what other IL's suggest ??

3. sumalb

sumalb Senior IL'ite

Yup lakshya.. this is how am going.

I have another question to ask..
    Do they filter candidates( for calls, later after interview etc) based on gap and expected CTC?

Last edited: Mar 14, 2013
  4. cedantseq

cedantseq New IL'ite

tell the truth, in job, they see your experience and reason why you never worked, always tell the truth, as you might not have to regret later

5. lakshya1234

lakshya1234 Silver IL'ite