Recipes for Vinayagar Chathurthi

Discussion in 'Krishnaammas Kitchen' started by krishnaamma, Aug 6, 2013.

1. krishnaamma

krishnaamma Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Akkaravadisal - Rice Kheer

You can make any payasam :) Here i am putting the recipe of
    "Akkaravadisal - Rice Kheer"

Ingredients:

This is also an important item in our houses. (Iyanger)
    1 cup rice
    1 sp channa dal
    1 sp moong dal
    3/4 cup jaggery (grated)
    1 cup full cream milk
    4 - 5 sp ghee
    2 sp crushed cashew nuts
    2 sp kis mis - dry grapes
    10 - 15 strings of saffron
    1/2 sp cardamom powder

Method:

Wash and clean rice. Allow it to dry by spreading it on a clean cloth.
    In a pan pour 2 sp ghee and fry rice in low flame.
    Allow it to fry well and add dals and fry well.
    Pour 1/2 cup milk and water. Cook well and smash it like a thick paste.
    Put saffron in one spoon milk.
    Add grated jaggery and mix well.
    In another pan pour the balance ghee and fry cashew and dry grapes.
    Add them in the akkaravadisal .
    Add saffron milk and cardammon powder.
    Mix well. Add the balance milk.
    Remove from the fire. This Akkaravadisal must be thick and it should be like thick dosa dough.
    If you want add some more ghee before serving.
    Yummy "Akkaravadisal" is ready to serve.

2. krishnaamma

OMG! nobody wants to put a comment in this thread? :(

3. Priyaraj

Priyaraj Senior IL'ite

Hi mam

Today only i read your Vinayagar Chathurthi Spl receipes. After marriage this is the first time i am going to celebrate with my Hubby . Ur receipes are very useful for me. I sure try this and let you know the outcomes :)
    Last week i prepared Idiyappam like how you told for melmavu at first in this post. Tat time the dough become little bit watery i donno what went wrong. After reading your's post i understand the ratio concept. Will try this weekend.

4. krishnaamma

Nice to read your post ma :) measurements are very very important priya, to get good results please follow them , in due course you can do BY your 'kan alavu' :) ok yaa? :) ALL THE BEST !

5. VIJAYALAKSHMI06

VIJAYALAKSHMI06 Platinum IL'ite

Good post Krishnamma.Its similar to my amma's preparation.Waiting for Vinayakar Chathurthi to taste all these Yummy yummy Kolukattais!!

6. Rith

Rith IL Hall of Fame

Thank you so much aunty. This method of preparing dough is very easy. I tried today for sample. My hubby appreciated a lot. It came out so so well. Crores of thanks Aunty

Last edited: Aug 8, 2013
  7. krishnaamma

Thank you dear :)

8. krishnaamma

ho..super :) good you are super fast girl :thumbsup This is what I want dear, I am here to help you :)

9. krishnaamma

Mani Kozhukattai

To make this you need 'excess outer cover dough' and excess 'udad dalpoornam' that is all.

Make small balls out of the dough like 'salt cheedai'

Steam it like all other kozhukattai and keep aside.

In a pan, make seasoning with mustard seeds and udad dall.

you can also add curry leaves in that.

now add the steamed rice balls in that and also add the 'udad dal poornam'

Mix well and add a pinch of salt.

Just keep it for 2 min. on the stove and remove.

Your 'Mani kozhukattai' is ready.

10. krishnaamma

'Mani kozhukattai' one more type

To make this you need 'excess outer cover dough' and 2 to 3 tea spoons of 'dosa milagai podi' that is all.

Make small balls out of the dough like 'salt cheedai'

Steam it like all other kozhukattai and keep aside.

In a pan, make seasoning with mustard seeds and udad dall.

you can also add curry leaves in that.

now add the steamed rice balls in that and also add the 'dosa milagai podi'

Mix well and add a pinch of salt.

Just keep it for 2 min. on the stove and remove.

Your 'Mani kozhukattai' is ready.

this is the photo.