Quiz this week #7 -Who is this ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by MeenLoch, Apr 23, 2008.

1. MeenLoch

MeenLoch Silver IL'ite

1. She released her first recording at the age of 10.

2. She was awarded many prestigious awards by the government like Bharath Ratna, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan.

3. You know her well through recitals of Vishnu Sahsranamam, Venkatesha Suprabhatam and Maithreem Bhajatha

4. Madurai is where she grew up and her mother taught her music. Music was all the wealth they had.

5. She acted in movie called "Sevasadanam", "Shankunthalai" and "Savithri" all of which were box office hit in the early 1990s.

Comment here if you get the answer. I am sure point 1 and 3 help you as major clues :).

2. gayu_r

gayu_r Senior IL'ite

The Nightingale. A personality whom eveyone has only good things to say about ! That smile, eyes and grace nobody can forget. Her charity, being humble are qualities everyone knows about her. I normally donot respond to your other quiz, but this is someone I am very sentimental about.

3. MeenLoch

MeenLoch Silver IL'ite

She touched our hearts Gayu. A true "Tapaswini" as Latha Mangeshkar ji called her. Who can ever forget "Kurai Onrum Illai" and the numerous Annamacharya Krithis she sung ?

4. gayu_r

gayu_r Senior IL'ite

One of my most favourite is the way she rendered, "Dasa meera, laal giridhar" in "Hari tuma haro" .. I love that bhavam, her expression, the sangadhis, the way she holds her hand then and the tears too ! Touchy.. I learnt that song just by listening to her.

5. Oviya

Oviya Silver IL'ite

Meenloch, whoelse otherthan the one and only legend...known by the initials. Helen Keller described her as a great singer. She kept her fingers in her neck and felt the vibrations of her vocal cord.

6. MeenLoch

MeenLoch Silver IL'ite

Oviya,
    Nothing is going to be tough for you ;-)
    I just saw that news here

7. Ranganayaki

Ranganayaki New IL'ite

I got it ! I got it!! :clap

;-) MSS is the answer and your 3rd clue confirmed my thought!

Keep the quizzes coming!!

8. MeenLoch

MeenLoch Silver IL'ite

Congrats RN...I was lookinh at some of her images through google. She looks so beautiful...Divine face !

9. Lalitha Shivaguru

Lalitha Shivaguru Platinum IL'ite

Dear meena,

Got this but it was tooooooooooo easy. Give us something difficult.

PS: kindly ask the members not to give the answers in the open forum so that we can have the suspense till the end.

10. Devika Menon

Devika Menon Gold IL'ite

Dear Meenloch,

Got it ! And I owe her a lot. She brings divinity to my house everyday. A must in my house every morning!
    A beautiful lady with a mesmerising voice

Devika