Questions aboutliving a month in Hyderabad

Discussion in 'Hyderabad' started by NokiaN93, Dec 16, 2014.

1. NokiaN93

NokiaN93 New IL'ite

Hello everyone
    I'm very exited to visit India,, i have a training course in Hyderabad for a whole month in February2015
    I don't know if this is the correct forum to post in

But I have some questions about India in general and Hyderabad in particular :)
    First of all i'm very very happy to visit India, this is my first visit to India
    would like to ask about the weather there in February , is it winter or spring or hot ?
    What are the most important sightseeing places ?
    how far Hyderabad from Newdelhi and Agra ?
    Can i travel to see Taj Mahl in one day ?
    what kind of food is there ?
    and the last question is it expensive? how mush money i need to live for a month ?

Thank you very much

2. nuss

nuss Finest Post Winner

Hi, Welcome to India. You will sure enjoy your stay. Hyderabad is not very touristy city but it has it's own charm. I am not from Hyd but lived there for 4 months in 2012. I am from Delhi and for me it wasn't cold at all. I was there from Dec- March. It grts a little cool at night and early morning and you will need a light sweater. More like spring weather. Hyderabad is in one of the southern states of India thus far from Delhi and Agra. No, you can't visit Delhi from Hyd in a day. If you want to go north, you will need a week to justify your trip (flight is only little over an hour though). If uou like spicy food, you will love food there. If not, make sure to ask for very mild food (you will still get spicy food but much less than the regular spice level). Haleem and biryani are hyderabadi specialities, though I love dosas and idli as much as biryani.
    Sightseeing: I would suggest that you get a lonely Planet guide for India. There are so many places to visit there. Golcanda fort, Charminar, chudi bazaar, Salarjang museum, another museum close to Charminar (I think it is Chowmahalla palace), state museum, public health museum, Hussain sagar lake, Lumbini park, qutub shahi tombs, shilparamam (if you want to buy handicraft and handloom).
    Compared to other big Indian cities, Hyderabad is quite cheap but you will need to haggle with auto rickshaw and other vendors. How much money you need will depend on where you will stay. If the course you're going to attend includes stay then not much. Iwill say bufget for rs 500 per day if you are going to eat all your meals at restaurants, so approx rs 15000 a month. You will be able to travel well on that much money.
    Good luck!

3. ushach

ushach New IL'ite

Hi NokiaN93,

Welcome to India. i live in hyderabad. so i think i can answer your questions better.

1.would like to ask about the weather there in February , is it winter or spring or hot ?
    -By february it will almost end of winter but itsnot going to be very hot aswell. so you will enjoy the climate.

2.What are the most important sightseeing places ?
    -For this you can consider the places which nuss has mentioned. adding to that you can visit Birla Mandir and Planitorium. As you are going to be here only for a month i dont think you will get much time for roaming and all.

how far Hyderabad from Newdelhi and Agra ?
    - Its very far. by train you will take take more than 24 hrs to reach delhi/agra. But flight option you always have.

Can i travel to see Taj Mahl in one day ?
    -NO way.

what kind of food is there ?
    -Again as NUSS said hyderabadi food will be very spicy. its famous for its biryanis and kababs.

is it expensive? how mush money i need to live for a month ?
    -Not much. but it always depends on where you stay and all. But minimum would be around Rs. 20000 PM.

hope i answered all your questions please ask me if you need any other info.You will enjoy your stay in Hyderabad.