Preemie delivery: A first hand account

Discussion in 'Post Pregnancy Care' started by antosuhanya, Jun 17, 2012.

1. antosuhanya

antosuhanya Senior IL'ite

HI ALL,

I am new to IL. my single purpose as of now is to share my experience with my preemie daughter who was in a hospital for 2months+ and is safely home. this thread aims to share first hand account of me and my hubby with our daughter who was born 850gms and in 26 weeks gestation (scan)/ 27 weeks (LMP). We were lucky that god has been kind to us to have a healthy baby. we faced almost all problems associated with Very low birth weight preemies, some fancy looking acronyms like BPD, PDA, PPH, ROP, etc alongwith neonatal jaundice, preemie weight gain issues, oxygen dependency, etc. Believe me, with good medical care, positive attitude and GOD (in whatever form u believe) preemie is easily manageable. Anyone experiencing difficulties with this are free to contact.

11 people like this.

2. arnavi

arnavi New IL'ite

God bless the baby .....

3. Chandrika82

Chandrika82 Silver IL'ite

Good topic suhanya. I havent seen many threads in IL discussing preemies. My DD was born 33 weeks at 1850 gms - compared to yours, she is a giant :)

Its great that she has come out of all the challenges perfectly, god bless her!

I guess what we would need to discuss more is the developmental path of a premature baby. My paed always advises to take her 'corrected age' (her orginal expected date) into account, when looking for developmental milestones like smiling, rolling over, sitting up etc. So as per her corrected age my DD is 3.5 months, while her original age is 5 months.

Share more on your experiences with this. How old is your DD now? (corrected age)

4. skmeera

skmeera Silver IL'ite

Antosuhanya,