1. Looking for an Interesting Craft Project? : Plethora of Ideas
    Dismiss Notice

Pls help this beginner

Discussion in 'Sewing & Stitching' started by tinku, Aug 1, 2014.

1. tinku

tinku Silver IL'ite

Hi all,

I am a beginner and I would like to purchase a sewing machine for household purposes like stiching frocks, churidhar, blouses, etc.

I do not know anything about sewing machines or how to sew on a machine. But I want to learn and satisfy my household needs. I do not even know what a bobbin is. I do not know when a needle will break, about motor etc. I am planning to buy an automatic sewing machine and learn by myself because I have a small baby to take care at home. I can't go for any classes for a few years.

Some people say that learning is very difficult and is not as easy as I think. Is it so?
    i was planning to buy usha or singer machine like usha stich magic or wonder stich or singer 8280 as advices on some sites.

One friend of mine said learning is difficult and I need to go in for a basic model like mini Silai machine that just costs less than 2000 Rs.

Pls advice me. Is learning to sew on a machine that difficult? Pls advice on the sewing machine model with brand name if you suggest buying.

i like the machine to do little embroidery too.

Pls advice me soon as I am planning to buy the machine this week.

Thanks in advance.

2. prabha1

prabha1 Bronze IL'ite

Hi,

It is not difficult to take control of sewing machine, some singer dealers give you basic training on the control of the machine.

If the singer people r not supporting u can do your self , draw straight line
    On the fabric and stitch on it slowly,

All the best
    Prabha

3. umasivasankar

umasivasankar IL Hall of Fame

hi tinku,