1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems

Plants to grow.

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by aishu22, Apr 10, 2007.

1. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Hi Ilites,
    We have shifted to our new house which is in first floor. I have 3 balconies quie big ! I have Tulasi and nityamalli plant already planted in the pots.

Can you people guide me on plants that i can grow , but only in pots.

2. sathya

sathya Gold IL'ite

hello

thotti thotti malargala?
    sollave illaye..
    rojappoo sigapputhaan
    vellai kooda valarume..
    chamanthi vagaigalum
    mannittu manpuzhu
    uramittu
    konji konji valarthittal
    vellai nira pookkalum
    manja orange enru maarume..?
    kathazai azhagu thaan
    koodave arogyamum...
    money plant um
    kariveppilaiyum paarthukondaal
    valarume..
    bangalore il niraya per
    maadi tharayil
    valarkiraar vendakkayum
    kathirikkayum
    koodave podalangai,poosani...

malarattum manathu pola...

sathya

3. sunkan

dear aishu,
    u hve not mentioned abt the sunlight part of it, if u have direct sunlight there then u can venture into javandis now is the season,there r red and yellow so u can mix and match while placing the pots,look at ur neibhours this is the best way to grow ur garden what u see flourishing may be the right kind, i also notice u r from chennai where the weather is too hot and u may have to cover ur plant area so that the blooms dont get affected and roses need a lot of attn but like how sathya says u need to talk to them, a personal experience they grow very nice if u have music around them, give them the right shade of light keep a nice tarpaulin inside the balcony and hang down if the light is too strong then bring them up in the evening so the plants get plenty of fresh air....regards sunkan

4. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Dear Satya,
    Thank you for the Poem... Vested with lotta ideas...

Dear Sunkan,
    About the sunlight its does have bright sunlight and little bit of shade too.. Builder has designed it that way, ideal for plants. Alos i have facility to make "pandal" for any climbers to grow.

I 'mafraid to plant seasonal flowers coz.. everytime you need to change them, since im working, i cant spend all day taking care though i spend evenings for it.
    Can you suggest me all time plants,Can i plant some thing useful for kitchen like Mint, Curry leaves in Pots???
    Please suggest.I have bigger pots ready but no idea what to plant.
    More suggestions welcome!

Last edited: Apr 11, 2007
  5. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Hello Ilites,
    Seems like every one is busy??? huh?

Please take your time but gimme some suggestions..I'm waiting for it

6. vidyavenky

vidyavenky New IL'ite

Hi Aishu,

Yes. U can grow curry leaves, mint , coriender leaves at pots and if the pots are really big u can also grow tomato and sepankiyangu. I had these in my pots when i was living in bangalore. You can also try moneyplant, roses, javanthi,and some crotents and if pandal is possible then definetly jasmine.

:wave
    vidya.

7. Blondie

Blondie Bronze IL'ite

Hi Aishu,
    Thought you might be interested in checking out the gardening forum:

container perennials for hot texas sun - Container Gardening Forum - GardenWeb

and also this :
    Container Gardens

And please dont rule out annuals just because you have to replant every year. Even perennials need equal care once a year, they need to be repotted with soil change and root maintenance. another is dont you get tired of looking at the same plants year in year out?:) .
    You can grow basically any plant suitable for the local conditions in a container.

My suggestions would be lilies and hibiscus and also miniature banana plants (non flowering variety), bougainvillea (white and deep red ). And you can also add interesting touches like figurines and bird pools.

Have fun designing your balcony space.......

Pushpa

8. Tulasi

Tulasi Silver IL'ite

Hi Aishu,

pretty much you can grow everything which you like..for eg I like jasmine, kanakambra, hibicus, roses and veggies also eggplant , green leaf veggies,
    tammotos, chillis...i grow lot of them in pots and enjoy gardening..

9. sunkan

hai all how abt these layouts....regards sunkan

Last edited: Nov 6, 2007
  10. Tulasi

Tulasi Silver IL'ite

Awesome pictures Sunkan! wondering how did they grew it like that...