over the counter pill for postponing periods?

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by shravanthika, Mar 19, 2008.

1. shravanthika

shravanthika Senior IL'ite

2. shravanthika

Kamala,
    I checked Walgreens and CVS pharmacy online stores...but no luck

I also mailed the link u gave me...no reply so far

By the way is it like there might be generic equivalent?

3. Shanvy

shravanthika,

These postponing pills leave a long lasting side effects. please do exercise caution..

Try the natural way of using fried gram dal.(pottukadalai ) that works for lot of people.

4. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Dear Shravanthika,
    I do not take pills for this.I always go by the fried gram(pottukadalai).Have a handful of it 3 or 4 days prior to your normal cycle start day.Have it on empty stomach and drink warm water.Have tea/coffe after 30 mins only.
    It works for me.It differs from person to person..so take care....

5. puni88

puni88 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

That's true... all these medicines will have side affects.
    After first delivery, this medication didn't had any affects on me, even though I took once, still i got my periods.

6. shravanthika

I have an unavoidable situation and I'm not sure abt the natural methods and thats why I'm hunting on this...please help me ladies...

The other option I have is getting it from India....

7. Nandshyam

Nandshyam IL Hall of Fame

When you say it differs from person to person.. it doesnt mean it will prepone it thou right :( :( :(

Anyways will give it a try when I need it and check how my body reacts :)

should it be only 3-4 days or can it be a day earlier?

8. Amulya123

Amulya123 New IL'ite

I know I am replying almost an year later, but wanted to post it anyways..hoping to help others in future.

You can use birth control pills for this, start them like a week ahead and continue them till when you are okay to get you period.

You can also take them for 3-4 days and stop to get your period ahead of time.

I got this suggestion from my gyn, when I had to do some pooja.

Hope this helps

9. pavuluris

pavuluris Senior IL'ite

Thanks. Glad to know the alternative.