1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

On The Auspicious Occasion Of Teachers' Day- Trust Deficit.

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by HariLakhera, Sep 6, 2022.

1. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

Down The Memory Lane.
    TRUST DEFICIT

(GOVERNMENT (PUBLIC) INTER COLLEGE, KOTDWAR, UTTARAKHAND)

Dropping all pretensions of modesty, I may say that I was a bright student and therefore a favorite of most of the teachers. Shatriji, as our Hindi Teacher was fondly called had a special liking for me. He liked my handwriting, my way of expression and most importantly my being an obedient pupil. In his opinion, I could do no wrong. I did my homework without fail, read in advance the chapter coming for the next tutorial in the class, and my books were properly kept in neat and clean condition. In fact, in his eyes, I was the ideal student. He would give my example in every other class. He knew my father and would always praise me.

Every day before the Hindi class, it was my duty to collect Homework notebooks from each student and place them on the table before Shatriji came. On that fateful day, I had somehow missed doing my homework and as such did not bring the notebook. All the notebooks except mine were on the table before Shastriji came. As a routine, he called that all students who have not brought their homework to stand up. As a punishment, all such students stood on the bench throughout the period. Surprisingly I was the lone student on that day who had not done his homework and stood up. Shashtriji was aghast when he saw me standing.