Oh My God! Episode 9

Discussion in 'Saturdays with Varalotti' started by varalotti, May 22, 2009.

1. varalotti

Hi Krips,
    THANKS FOR THE NICE WORDS ABOUT OMG. WHEN WILL WE BECOME SO MATURE AS MALYA? ONLY WHEN HE THINKS THAT WE SHOULD BE SO.

Now coming to the AV story:
    Good point. But Sandhya would be meeting attractive men in Chennai just casually. At the mall, at her office, at her club or somewhere. And might promptly forget them. That's woman's psychology for you. A woman is not impressed by good looks alone. That's why there is no counter-part for Playboy, a magazine which changed hands for some 1400 crores last week.
    But it was a different story in London. The man was with her for a few days. His skills, his manners, his capacity to handle situations has made him attractive. In the background of all these qualities good looks also did its part. I tell you very few women of substance are attracted by handsome men who are otherwise idiots.
    Let me be clear. Rithwick disturbed Sandhya. He even made her think whether she had chosen Rishi in a hurry. But never have I said that Sandhya had sexual thoughts. It was only Rithwicks conclusion that if only she had sex one time the attraction would be gone.

Perfectly right again. But Krips you would have met responsible professionals, fathers and faithful husbands. Whereas Rithwick is an escort. And he wont think like a software engineer born in Kumbakonam and working for Microsoft.

Thanks. I had been to London in 1993 and what I wrote was from the journal I maintained of the visit. I had included many other places but had to cut short because the story exceeded the prescribed length.

If it is of any consolation to you I wrote the story more than 8 years ago.

love,
    sridhar

2. Shrikha

Shrikha Senior IL'ite

Hi Sridhar Sir,
    Thanks for the wonderful reply, I am convinced. I was actually waiting eagerly to find out what answer you might have for my question. About the clue you have given, I am still wondering what it might be!!!! :)

And about the story in AV, feel bad I do not know to read and write tamil, I am missing one very good story is what I feel after reading the FB's given by others.

3. indhusri

indhusri Bronze IL'ite

Dear Sridhar ,
    It was only the Great Almighty who showed KG to Malya and made her realize His love ! We believe in God or in life only if we feel His love and grace through somebody ! மனித உருவில் தெய்வம் ! Malya , having suffered all the hardships in her life , gets a peaceful death just because she is flawless and totally not responsible for her sinful life .

On reading these lines , my eyes were full with tears and my heart wept bitterly for poor Malya .

Chanceless , Sridhar ! KG’s words were very powerful and very true too !
    Adopting Malya as his daughter was the height of humanity ( மனிதாபிமானம், right ? ) What else Malya can ask for ?
    My :bowdown:bowdown:bowdown:bowdown to you for presenting this wonderful episode OMG 9 !
    Regards ,
    Indhu.

Last edited: May 28, 2009
  4. varalotti

Dear Kamla,

I am quite sure that you will understand the reasons for the inordinate delay in responding to your fb. One, there were a number of fb, so much so that I almost forgot that I have another episode to deliver in a week's time. And two you would have seen some sparks flying across because of the Vikatan story. That is the reason for the delay.

People like Malya are a shame on the entire male population. And as you rightly predicted so long as there are men, there would be Malyas. As if to prove to the world that mud is the birth place of the worms as well as the beautiful lotus, we also have somebody like KG among men.

My idea of creating a character like KG is to tell the world that the life of spirituality and that of pure love is one and the same.

Moreover the whole creation was to package the maha manthram, the Dvayam with all its significance of love.

I am really happy that you enjoyed the extra-long episode.

About the story in Vikatan.. well I think somebody up above wanted to deal a heavy blow to a mofussil accountant's ego and as always He had his way. That's all.

Please do not miss this week's episode due in a few hours from now.

love,

sridhar

5. varalotti

Dear Kamla,
    You have a way with words especially when it comes to disagreement. I have never seen anybody disagreeing so softly and yet so firmly. Well, as you have rightly observed I enjoyed this verbal exchange more than even writing the story in the first place. With friends like you who disagree in such a lovable manner tell me who wont want disagreement and argument.

You are right. But at Sandhya's level when she is up there to sign a multi-million dollar collaboration agreement several things are thrown in just to keep the business associate happy. Of course if Sandhya had refused strongly the escort would have been withdrawn. But honestly Kamla in the business world, especially when the stakes are large these things are thrown in just like that.

You will be shocked to know that the foreign customers of handlooms and textiles who visit Tamilnadu for procurement are given these types of escorts. You are right not all escorts supply sexual favours. And there are escorts exclusively for that. But you can't deny the fact that there are general escorts who provide sexual favours too. I have seen the brochure of an escorts agency at Netherlands. They don't print it explicitly but the tell-tale signs are more than enough.

Perfectly true. But unlike men who fall for a beautiful woman just like that women do not fall for any random handsome man they meet on the road or at their office. Women fall for soft-mannered, humorous, intelligent men who know their way around. I am sure that if Sandhya had met Rithvick on the road he would not have fallen for him. But you will have to give this to the poor writer - when thrown together with an intelligent, well-mannered, knowledgable man in a foreign country, such thoughts are bound to raise. Not for all the women. But at least for some.

I know why you are saying this. Rithvick says that a German or French woman in your place would have had a fling and would have returned to her lover. I am not demeaning those women. I am just saying that the definition of morality is different across the cultures. I remember reading an interview of the wives of some big businessmen in Mumbai. They told in one voice that they would not mind an "one-night stand" provided there is no emotional bond. And they expected their husbands to show a similar degree of lenience. Such kind of thinking was impossible a few decades ago.
    Sandhya is in the transition period. And that was her problem. And that gave life to the story.

Given the emancipation of the modern day women the scenario is quite plausible. Falling for some one's charm.. well to me that is the most complex phenomenon which cannot be confined to some defined set of rational rules. Several years go my favourite writer Thi.Janakiraman wrote about a woman from an orthodox family falling for another man. Just like that. Remember the story is set in 50s.
    When the temptation happens in the backdrop of Sandhya's love for Rishi, well, you really have a complex situation which is a fertile land for us writers. In fact, my dear friend, that is the strongest point of the story.

As I sign off I will have to give it to your credit that even fighting with you is a pleasure.
    Thanks for giving me that happiness.
    love,
    sridhar

6. varalotti

You are most welcome, Shrika. Well about the clue I gave you have just about 115 minutes left as of now to find out what it is all about.

The AV story is a little controversial. I will try to post the English version some time to know about your views.
    thanks once again.
    love,
    sridhar

7. varalotti

Dear Indhu,
    Everything is Almighty. It was the loving God who showed KG to Malya. And we should not forget that it was the same God who made her to be born as the daughter of an animal. May be all the prior incidents of her life was just a preparation for her to meet KG. So that when she saw KG she simply melted in love and in a matter of a few months she gathered wisdom which normally takes two dozen life times.

Those lines predict the lives of many women for that matter. I hope, of all the persons, that you would not have forgotten my very first short story in English which appeared in the Womans Era in Feb 2002. It was entitled The Freedom Song. The heroine there tells the same though she has a much better life than Malya.

KGs words reflect a part of the explanation for dvaya manthram found in our scriptures. I owe it to my teacher Dr.Arangarajan who gave an emotional touch to the mantra. But for him I would not have written those lines.
    As the poet says
    சொந்தம் என்று வந்ததெல்லாம் சொந்தமும் இல்லை
    ஒரு துணையில்லாமல் வந்ததெல்லாம் பாரமும் இல்லை
    நன்றி உள்ள உயிர்களெல்லாம் பிள்ளைதானடா தம்பி
    நன்றி கெட்ட மகனை விட நாய்கள் மேலடா

Thanks my dear Indhu. And a bigger thanks for staying out of the AV story controversy.

Looking forward to seeing you in OMG 10.
    love,
    sridhar

8. varalotti

Most Gracious ILites,

OMG 10 will be on air in a few seconds from now. Even at the very outset I will have to seek your pardon because this week I am making a much greater demand on your time.

Apart from the 11-part episode there is a 5-part epilogue. Try hard as I did I could not avoid posting the epilogue. The subject matter of the epilogue is so directly connected with His love that there is no better place to post it than at the end of this episode.

Incidentally the epilogue will also tell you the importance of your fb.

All of you ladies, be very good girls, read the episode and the epilogue and post your fb on time. It's after all your child that is in your lovely hands right now.

love,
    sridhar

9. smileypooja

smileypooja Senior IL'ite

Dear Vara,

A wonderful Story which shares again the holy lines...

“sriman naarayana charanau sharanam prapathye
    Srimathe naarayanaaya namaha.”

As usual my chanting of the mantra list is increasing daily....shall wish for your success my guru...:bowdown

Hmm new ideas from arvinds side...if your disturbed feed your stomach with the food you love:idea...I just love icecream like yam......hmmm

Coming to the story I knew that Malya would leave this world but...i never guessed that she would leave this world with the honor of KG"s Daughter....:thumbsup

The lessons of love taught to us by you are really touching and memorable...

Hat's off Vara...:hatsoff

-Pooja.:wave:

10. vashini

vashini Bronze IL'ite

Dear Accha,
    Hari Om..

First of all, I would like to thank you for giving the meaning and explanation for Dvayam. It’s really great to get the pleasure of understanding clearly a mantram which we chant daily. I also feel indebted to my Guruji who taught me the mantram and never forget to thank GOD for giving me the opportunity. Thanks once again Accha.

Wow.. what a great woman she is. A simple woman can never ever accept her death in such a way.

I salute KG’s act of adopting Malya. We can see families neglecting their love ones just because they were infected by HIV but in this case KG is really a Gem of person.

What more can I say about Malya… She is definitely a woman whose memory will never fade away.

Vashini