1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie to Gardening... Please advice

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by orion80, Feb 6, 2011.

1. orion80

orion80 Platinum IL'ite

Dear Ladies,

I am new to gardening. I have some space in balcony where i can keep some potted plants. I want to start with some organic vegetable plants.

Please suggest which plants i can start with and what care i should take while planting them. Also please suggest ways to prevent insects and pests from attacking the plants.

I would love to see some nice healthy plants in my balcony.

-Lakshmi

2. Happysoul1234

Happysoul1234 Gold IL'ite

Tomatoes, capsicum, bhindi, eggplants are all easy to grow in containers. You can spray some neem oil on the plants to keep insects away. You can also plants herbs such as basil, mint and oregano etc in pots.

3. SriVidya75

SriVidya75 Platinum IL'ite

Orion

Try something like chilli or mint, curry leaf, and other leafy stuff used in small quantities for cooking...

reason...to actually grow tomatoes for a family of 2, you atleast need 4 plants of tomatoes and that too, they need more maintenance like sunlight, right temps and water and nutrients to give that right amount of yield...

growing chillies, mint, curry leaf, dhaniya, methi etc...that way you get to use them every day in small quantities for cooking, and they dont need much of space too...and the fresh taste and smell actually gives great flavour to the dish you cook

Also try growing some twiner leafy veggies...like spinach etc..where they can twine around the fence of the balcony and any time of the day/night you can just pluck couple of leaves and put it in daal etc...