1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems
    Dismiss Notice

newbie in gardening

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by gentran, Mar 21, 2010.

1. gentran

gentran New IL'ite

Hi all
    i require your advice as i am very new to gardening.. I Love to have healthy plants around me.. Last year which was my first summer in US i tried growing herbs like mint, corriander, tulsi and peppers . I have very little space to grow i dont want to disturb the lawn . i have bought Gongura and chikkudi seeds from India I even wanna grow Tomatoes. I have a big patio with lots of sunshine. please tell me which of them shall i grow in pots in Patio and which of them to be grown on Land . and please tell me which soil shd i use for pots . We stay in East coast so please keep in mind the extreme temperatures in winters. I am even planning to plant a rose which yeild lots of tiny roses[ for puja purpose] im not sure abt the name . Please tell me which would be the ideal rose to be grown outside and which can sustain the winter weather . :bonk

2. gentran

gentran New IL'ite

eagerly waiting for your inputs

3. SriVidya75

SriVidya75 Platinum IL'ite

I guess you have to go for annual plants rather than biennials or perennial plants..

Roses are good ones because during winter you can prune them and put mulch around them to save their roots and again during summer add manure and they would grow back...

Other roots like peonies and dahlias are also good

You have check the kind of plants you can sow as per your zone. pls check google for the area/zone your city falls into and they also give the lsit of plants you can grow.
    USNA - USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map: North-East US

Check which zone is your city in..and search for plants to grow in that zone