New here and need help with school hunt

Discussion in 'Schools/Playgroups/Daycares in Sharjah' started by daffy2006, May 13, 2009.

1. daffy2006

daffy2006 Junior IL'ite

Hello everyone,
    First and foremost just want to express my happiness on discovering this site and but of course this forum. Ok....now introduction. My name is Anuja and I'm mother to a 3 yrs old named Seher. I am from Pune/ Mumbai. I've been staying in Sharjah since 2005. Was working up untill my pregnancy that was for about 8-9 mths and ever since I've been a homemaker stuck with household chores and managing ever demanding kid and hubby :) . Also i've not been able to make many friends. Just few neighbours who just keep gossiping and 1-2 from my previous job. Rest almost all are strangers.
    Even after staying here for almost 4-5 yrs i find it difficult to get along with things around . I think i do have higher chances of making friends here and support to vent all that i want to.
    We are also planning to shift somewhere around Al Nahdha/ immigration/ king Faisal street may be 3-4 mths down the line. Meanwhile we are hunting for some appropriate school for my lil one. She will turn 3 yrs old next mth and no schooling or nursery for her as of now. I'm sure all you mommies have already spoken a lot of schools and stuff but I haven't yet figured out a collective opinion of any of the schools.
    My neighbour's son is enrolled in DPS and she keeps on insisting that its a fabulous school. Other day hubby dear came up with Westminster School saying some of his colleagues kids are enrolled there and it provides UK based curriculum. I'm so confused..........:spin......also is it important that your lil one be enrolled in a nursery or a kindergarten before she starts proper schooling or is it just added advantage. And which curriculum to follow ICSE/ CBSE etc.....
    Sorry for such a long post or essay but I assure you once I find solution to my problem I'll post in few sentences. :)