1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Need Help...Please...............

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by nakkamanju, Mar 31, 2010.

1. nakkamanju

nakkamanju New IL'ite

Hi friends,
    i am a loyal and regular visitor tp indusladies and this site has definitely helped me to have a better understanding about cooking or health.

now coming to my question i need help to plan my cooking.My husband works in a different state which 31/2 hrs drive from richmond. I prefer to pack him homemade food for 4 days as he leaves on monday morning and comes back on thursday night and i also prefer to give him food because he is diabetic. now my concern is i am 14 weeks pregnant and i spent 4 hrs int he kitchen on sunday and by the time i am done i am exhausted. and i cannot cook much on weekdays as i work as a preschool teacher in a educational childcare. so please friends can u suggest me some one pot meals (without rice) which are quick and easy to pack.

i would really appreciate your timely advice and help.
    thanks in advance

manju

2. SriVidya75

SriVidya75 Platinum IL'ite

Manju

Have you gone through Chitvish madams microwave recipes...some of them are really quick n easy to make in microwave.? let me come back with more ideas meanwhile do browse through cooking forum

3. lavisri2004

lavisri2004 New IL'ite

Hi,

My suggestion would be chappathi,upma and any dry curries (like aloo,gobi)which can be kept for 3 to 4 days. He can always reheat them covered in a microwave. I dont know if you would like rice items, because if u make different podi's(I hope u know wht they are like garlic pwdr,corainder pwdr etc...), he can keep a bottle of it at wrk and can jus take plain rice from home, mix them at work and eat anytime which jus plain yoghurt or any raithas or even pickles . U can also make very simple pulaos which does not require a lot of wrk (peas pulao for example).