Navratri Golu Decorations - Ideas and Tips

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by gvi, Jul 18, 2007.

1. prabhabala

prabhabala Gold IL'ite

we have nearly 100 elephants... i need some idea how to utilise & keep them in kolu....
    PRABHA

2. purplebird

purplebird New IL'ite

You can make an elephant sanctuary in the park!

3. Ami

Ami Silver IL'ite

that is a good idea and name it mudhumalai sanctuary or saranalayam!!

4. Bambli

Bambli Gold IL'ite

Dear Friends and Sister..

I planned to do Navarathri pooja this year... both my parents and my mil don't keep golu before this. Normally we visit temples during this 10 days.

This year i wanted to do this pooja at my house. I have no much dolls at home. recently my god sister went to india and have asked her to get for me a small statue of Durga amma, Lakshmi Amma and Sarawati Amma. and she got it from me..

With these three statue, Could you pls give some idea how can I decorate my mandapam (no steps i guess) ??

I also have 102 vinayagar statue (my hobby) at home... can i keep them all in my kolu decorations ?? or i must have other statues too ??

I have no sisters and all my friends here, are not intrested in poojas or festivals. I have no one here to talk too or discuss or share ideas. So now i'm seeking my IL friends and sister to help me..

Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  5. prabhabala

prabhabala Gold IL'ite

thanks ami.....

prabha

6. prabhabala

prabhabala Gold IL'ite

thanks purple bird...

prabha

7. saiknowhow

saiknowhow New IL'ite

Are we allowed keep bommai golu for last 3 days during navaratri. As i am working, its not possible to keep the golu for all 10 days. Please let me know. Is it compulsory that we do it every year....like if i know that i will have my monthly problem...can i skip that year ?

Please answer my queries.

8. Basuradhu

Basuradhu Silver IL'ite

Hi friends

I want to do Navaratri pooja not poss to keep golu. can anyone tell me what all are the slokas we can tell and any simple pooja to perform.(having 10month old kid thatzy)

first 3 days for durga,lakshmi and saraswathi can anyone post all slogas for navaratri together in one file ?

Radhiga.B

9. vijiramanan

vijiramanan Silver IL'ite

Navaratri Golu

Dear friends,
    I am Mrs. Vijayalakshmi.
    I just would like to know where do we get this small small Piththalai choppukkal (பித்தளை சொப்புக்கள் ) to keep in golu. In fact my mother had them. But during transportation we received empty box of golu bommai. We had lost them. I would like to purchase them. Kindly can anyone guide me.
    Thanking you.

10. rama_mani

rama_mani Silver IL'ite

Hi Vijayalakshmi,

You can find all temple shops (espically in Madurai Meenakshi amman temple, tanjore side temples like major temples) You can get pitalai choppugal, maakkal choppugal during this pooja time. Try those places.