My pets and I

Discussion in 'Pets and Animal Lovers' started by drradha7, Aug 19, 2014.

1. drradha7

drradha7 Bronze IL'ite

I am a human doctor but my passion is animals. I like all animals and like to bring them home!
    I have 3 dogs, a boxer, a Dalmatian, and a terrier-indie cross. My boxer, Lizzy, passed from Cancer (Non – Hodgkin’s Lymphoma) 2 weeks back. The Dalmatian and the terrier are adopted dogs from the local animal shelter. I recently, as recent as 2 days back, adopted another abandoned boxer from the local animal shelter.
    The journeys that my pets and my 2 human sons take me through is a subject of most of my articles and blogs!

We found a baby squirrel on the road one sunday morning! My son had taken the dogs for a walk as he does every sunday. He found Lizzy, my boxer, and Sandy, the Dalmatian, very interested in some object on the ground, and high pitched squeaks coming from it. He bent down to investigate and found this tiny sweetheart on the ground, near a vehicle tyre, screaming bloody murder for all he was worth! My son lovingly brought him home to be looked after, after searching all around that area for the mother somewhere up the tree.

It was a he, and a mighty tiny soul at that, hardly moving around. I checked him out for any injuries, broken bones, and i couldnt see any. It was really tiny and not opening its eyes fully. There were also no obvious signs of open injuries. I reckoned it must have fallen off the tree after a predator got its mother.

We placed it in a shoe box initially, packed with paper and cotton, a small cup of milk and some nuts (!!). It lay there snugly without moving. I then fitted a rubber tube to an injection syringe and force-fed 1 ml of milk to the baby every 2 hrs.