1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Moving to Toronto from USA

Discussion in 'Indians in Canada' started by Mihisha, Mar 20, 2011.

1. Mihisha

Mihisha Senior IL'ite

Hello friends!

I am a recent phd graduate from USA university. I am currently on an OPT visa and would have been in good shape if my husband's labor application had not been denied here in usa.

I am applying to various jobs here that can sponsor my visa and I am confident that in 4/5 months I would get one that sponsor me J1/H1. Now, we cannot wait until that long because my DH's company is not stable and cud dissolve anytime. So I shud be on J1 asap (J2 can work while H4 cannot)

There is a very nice lab in toronto which has same work as I am doing here. the experience and interests match and the position is starting from around May end. My only concerns are;

1. If I waited here for just 3/4 months, I can get a J1 and DH on J2 (if need arises) and I can process our GC on fasttrack (being a phd, i have better chances) and everything wud be done in next 3/4 yrs, God willing. However, if I move to canada, I wud be losing this opportunity for good. because, If I move, DH comes along and we wud have then kids and life wud be settles in toronto, it wud be hard to come back and re-start the whole GC process at the end of 3/4 years.

2. I have heard a lotttt about cold climate and high cost of living in canada. I dont have direct contacts and have read frm forums etc. So if anyone who has been here and is also lived in canada, can please shed a light. My most direct Q wud be if one has a family income of around $70k, can a family of 4 (2 kids and mom dad) live comfortably along with savings for buying home etc? Would the cold be very harsh from someone coming from washington DC?

Please help in making these important decision of our life as the next 3/4 yrs are crucial for us to save, have kids and enjoy our youth :)

Thanks!
    Regards

Misha