1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

MOR KUZHAMBU Vs MAJJIGE HULI

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by twinsmom, Aug 15, 2007.

1. twinsmom

twinsmom Silver IL'ite

Choices are difficult to take. I mean, that’s what choices are for. To make life more complicated. This…? Nah…that! Er…this…

While I was a student, some exam papers used to give options. Question No. 8. Answer any one of the following. And I am at a loss to select one as I know both the answers…very well. Then I look at Question No. 9. Again, answer any one…and I don’t know the answer to either! What a predicament! Give me a Calvin Klein and a Gucci…I’ll dither. Tell me to choose between Jeffrey Archer and John Grisham…I’ll tap my feet in irritation. O.P. Nayyar and S. D. Burman? I am spoiled for choice… But ask me if I want mor kuzhambu or majjige huli…before you finish your question…I’d have declared MOR KOZHAMBU.
    There’s no doubt about it! Comparing the palghat iyers’ mor kozhambu or morkoottaan as it is fondly called, to the majjige huli is like comparing Manichithra Thaazhu to Chandralekha! I mean …no comparison as far as I am concerned.

Mor koottaan is prepared with ash gourd (elavan) or vellarikkai and raw banana or potato. I prefer potato. The cubed vegetables are boiled with salt and haldi and left to cool. Fresh coconut is ground with green chillies and the well ground mixture is added to thick sour buttermilk or well beaten curds. This is mixed with the boiled vegetables and heated at a very low flame till small bubbles start appearing on the surface. Heat is turned off at this crucial moment and the dish is seasoned with kadugu (mustard seeds), menthium( fenugreek seeds), redchillies and garnished with kadipatha. Mmmm! Just divine!