Monday Fast for Shivji

Discussion in 'Queries on Religion & Spirituality' started by billo76, Aug 17, 2014.

1. Sandycandy

Sandycandy IL Hall of Fame

Thanks ! Do you think Billo will mind if we hang out here ? We promise to be good girls !:angel:

Naari likes this.
  2. venlax

venlax Silver IL'ite

3. Naari

Naari Platinum IL'ite

Oh aziz ansari is a fav too, you watch masters of none? He's doing a great job , his own show & production.. also watch this on jimmy Fallon.. My tummy hurt laughing watching this .. jimmy & aziz are reading yelp reviews dramatically

Sandycandy likes this.
  4. Naari

Naari Platinum IL'ite

Thanks mistt.. we may soon do that..
    we are also looking out for some dead threads that we can revive harmlessly where the op is long gone for years & we can find some fun out of it, if that makes sense, like what we just did to billoo's thread! Also ensuring we are not kicked out from some current threads that way:tonguewink:
    I have a feeling that very soon there will be a new thread floating on ILs "how to stop the 2 trouble makers naari & sandycandy from guest partying on your threads?":lol::roflmao:

Mistt and Sandycandy like this.
  5. Sandycandy

Hubby loves Aziz Ansari , I used to watch parks and rec and thought he was ok there .
    Have seen this clip of him on jimmy Fallon's show ,really hilarious. I think he is really funny when he is on talk shows. Haven't seen masters of none yet, on hubby's list for sure . Catching up on Silicon Valley now.

Naari likes this.
  6. Naari

Naari Platinum IL'ite

@Sandycandy seeing our names in the latest replies in "Monday shivji fast" so many times , ILs must be thinking these 2 girls are so dhaarmik (religious)!!:tonguewink:

Sandycandy likes this.
  7. Sandycandy

As far as Billo and Lord shiva approve , we are good ;)

Naari likes this.
  8. Sandycandy

Haha I know right ! maybe that's the reason we haven't been kicked out yet
    :banana:.

Naari likes this.
  9. venlax

venlax Silver IL'ite

Dear Billo,

I appreciate ur religious mind & ur inclination to do Pooja.

First advice Don't be too rigid in the formalities & procedures. If u do so u will lose the purpose & simply be a slave to ritual formalities not sincere devotion to God.This applies to all.

1.Monday is the day for Lord Shiva.u can do.
    2.u can drink water to the minimum possible.This is based on health,climate etc.u can put Vilva leaf in the water & drink whenever req. vilva powder,Juice everything is available. Another specialty of Vilva leaf is it can be reused till it lasts.pl note vilva is for coolness - Lord Shiva being in burial ground & named Rudran & thulsi is for heat Lord Vishnu being in Palkadal -ocean of milk .
    3.It is better to avoid breakfast. u should give some details such as age,health conditions,ur workload ,tolerance level etc when u raise such queries.
    4.U can do it at home. Pl buy a proper Shivalinga & the base .In India pure Linga available in so many places like Kasi,Haridwar, Rishikesh & Nepal also.as u are in Singapore u can buy there. take some experienced person for purchase. it should not be broken ,pure, u should not see any black dots or so if it is Spadiga Linga.if Nothing is possible u can prepare ur own Linga from sand (it is difficult to do Abishekam, but Pooja can be done) .from stone by lightly chiseling it - u can do both abisekam & pooja. Basically Shiva is Abiseka priyar & Vishnu Alangara priyar.If u buy a linga pl buy a base also .
    5.as already said devotion is the foremost thing in Pooja. Whatever flowers u get p use it. Abisekam more important.. If u have Rudra chanting in cell or audio set or youtube ,do allow it to play while doing abisekam.u should not recite it. Certain restrictions are there.
    6.If u want to do it permanently
    u can do so on every Monday. Once u get used to fasting ,there will not be any problem.Avoid breakfast,take some Kanchi -oats,mixed cereals etc. it is better to avoid 3 items for any fasting - salt,butter milk,cooked rice. it helps in health maintenance also.Take salt less chappati after pooja .at night avoid dinner,take plantain or any fruit & milk. all based on ur individual physical fitness.
    7.If u want to any good thing it is better to start immediately though Shravana month is better. Don't wait for that.start now.
    u may be knowing Bagavad Gita - Lord krishna says even if u offer one spoon of water with devotion i will readily accept it. May Lord Shiva bless u & ur family.
    "the woods are lovely ,dark & deep but i have promises to keep & miles to before i sleep"

10. Naari

Naari Platinum IL'ite

Silicon Valley , haven't watched that but impressive 8.6 rating on IMDb.. adding to our show list..

Chalo off to Barnes & noble to do some book reading with DD now, so going into princess & unicorn world now. Damn, I don't see any unicorn or princess emojis :( :shakehead:

Sandycandy likes this.