Mixed Work : Procedures & Very Useful Tips

Discussion in 'Creative Crafts' started by ashukrishna, Apr 4, 2008.

1. ashukrishna

ashukrishna Bronze IL'ite

Please Find FBs (FeedBacks) here

http://www.indusladies.com/forums/creative-crafts/23605-mixed-work-procedures-very-useful.html

hello friends...
    here are some steps n tips to do ceramic wrk on pots...
    Courtesy: Instructions, tips and images from webindia 123.com.

hope this helps you all

We see a lot of beautiful things around us. With little creativity and effort we can make wonderful things with clay. By using the following method and materials we can make a clay basket and different types of fruits, well arranged in the basket.

[​IMG]What you need:
    1. china clay - 1/2 kg (approx.)
    2. Ceramic Powder- 1/2kg(approx)
    3. Ceramic Tile - 1 piece (12x8 or 12x12 size)
    4. Fabric Paint -Different Colours
    5. Varnish -1 bottle
    6. Glue.
    Tools / Accessories:
    1. Brushes
    2. Roller
    3. Knife
    How to Mould: [​IMG]
    1. Mix together China clay, ceramic powder and glue. Make it into a dough.
    2. Take small quantity of this dough and roll them into balls of various sizes to make grapes. Make 40-50 of them and paint purple.
    3. Same way shape up apples,bananas,oranges and whatever fruits you want to make, colour them and once the colour dries up, varnish them.
    4. To make leaves, take small quantity of the dough and roll it using the roller. Cut it in the shapes of leaves (various shapes) and paint them green when dry, varnish them.[​IMG]
    5. To make a [​IMG] basket take a portion of dough and flatten it and cut it out in the shape shown in the picture, place it over a glass as shown in the picture. Few horizontal lines and in between few vertical lines are pressed over the dough to get the exterior of the basket. Two small strings should be made with the dough and it should be twisted or plaited neatly and pasted to the top and bottom of the basket.
    6. Now paint the basket with brown and black colours and varnish it.
    Finishing Touches:
    Take a Ceramic plate. Wash it and let it dry. First using glue, stick the [​IMG] three sides of your basket on the tile. The top portion should be kept open. Fill the basket with clay dough to the brim.[​IMG]
    Now arrange the fruits on the top portion of the basket. Stick them in a beautiful way. If a small piece of magnet is stuck at the back of each fruit it can be put up can separately on any metal piece. This can even decorate our refrigerators.

[​IMG]Keep this fruit basket on a wooden stand. It will add decor to your dining or kitchen or even living room.
    It can also be gifted to someone you love.
    Try it and come out with beautiful creations. Enjoy yourself.

cheers...!!:)
    ashu

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2011

2. ashukrishna

re: Pottery : Ceramic Work Instructions

hi friend...
    generally ceramic powder n fevicol is used but u can make it shine only by applying a coat of varnish....
    here... the china clay (white cement) is a natural binder... tht gives natural ceramic effect with proper moulding shapes in mud effect... so after completing... even ur small simple designs 'll turn out well and seemps like it has attached in the pot by it own...
    in simple way...
    it is used for binding purpose for a blending finish...
    hope this 'll help
    ashu

3. ashukrishna

re: Pottery : Ceramic Work Instructions

hi anandchitra-ji
    gud to feel ur interest abt the project...

sure 'll share all kinda tips ...
    1. regarding basket...
    1. decide the shape , depth u need. if trying for first time pls dnt go for deep basket... try to make small shallow basket... though china clay helps u dry faster if u handle it with force.. u may lose the shape.
    thn use moulds like tumblers, small stainless steel cups, bowls... utensils, u need to make only half of its sape...sure u can decorate ur own idea...
    (i). mix the powders in proper consistency (like d chapathi dough). keep it for some time in air tight container
    (ii). apply little oil r normal face powder in ur hands, also over the bowl.
    (iii). now cover the bowl vid this dough after 2-3 mins u can take it.. dnt u worry.. it wnt brk.. as u 've applied oil/powder
    (iv). allow it to dry.. it 'll take alteast 1-2 hrs...but it 'll set soon.
    (v). i used normal fevicol. if u need to complete faster u can use quickfix(petrolium jel)very fast sticking glue use to bind puntchur, stick leathers... etc.so pls handle it with care.
    (VI) either in the tile r in the mould... if u apply in both, due to more addhesive it may not stick properly.(if u use tht jel for stickin, allow it to dry for 1mins thn stick over the tile...)

***NOTE***
    PLEASE KEEP THE DOUGH FREE FROM DIRT N DUST, 'COS IT MAY NOT STICK PROPERLY , ALSO WHILE COLORING THESE AREAS 'LL LOOK BAD...
    SO ONCE U PREPARE KEEP IN CLEAN AIR TIGHT CONTAINER OR IN FOIL SHEET...... TO GET SOFTNESS..

hope this 'll help u...
    if needed sure 'll help u out as much as i possibly can
    try it yaar...
    sure u 'll njoy
    ashu

4. cute teddy

cute teddy Bronze IL'ite

Hi all

Transform an ordinary looking candle into something fancy

Stencil the candle

You’ll need:

• Plain candles

• Stencils

• Adhesive or glue

• White craft paint

• Cotton balls

• Rubbing alcohol

• Sponge brush

Method

Apply stencil adhesive on the wrong side of the stencil. Allow to dry till sticky. Clean candle by rubbing alcohol soaked cotton balls on candle surfaces. Allow to dry.
    Center the stencil on the candle and press till adhered firmly into place on candle surface.
    Dip your brush (or a piece of sponge) lightly into the paint and remove the excess paint.
    Paint the stencil openings. Then very carefully remove the stencil making sure the paint does not drip. :)

Last edited: Oct 30, 2008
  5. nimurty

nimurty Gold IL'ite

Arts : Stenciling Instructions

check these methods to do stenciling on the material

Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  6. nimurty

nimurty Gold IL'ite

Craft Works : Candle Making Instructions

hi,check these differt type of candle making procedures.will try to upload more

7. coolbird

coolbird New IL'ite

Dear All
    Candle making is an art that offers creative opportunities for anybody, even those who are not inclined to art. There are several ways of decorating candles aesthetically using dyes, paints and decorations such as flowers, leaves, beads, buttons, etc. You can give unique effects by adding ice pieces, chunks of wax etc and a snowy effect by whisking up wax a bit. Here below, have given the materials needed and basic method for making a frosted candle. A ready made candle decorated with beaten wax gives a snowy effect. You can also try out the various ways in which a plain candle can be made to look spectacular

Materials
    · A broad candle · Wax - Paraffin wax or Bee wax (or about 15 tealites)
    · Double boiler
    · Dry Flower sprays
    · Dry leaves
    · Silver Glitter

Procedure to make a Frosted Candle :

· Melt the wax in a double boiler or a bowl over a pan of simmering water, and leave it for setting. When the wax starts solidifying and looks cloudy, start whisking it with a fork. Keep whisking until it froths up into a foam, which looks like frost and it is pure white.

· Take your candle and start applying the foam on it immediately, before it hardens. Try not to press it with the fork too much or you could get its impression. You can design to make it look like a snow slope or just keep it even.

· Stick in a few dry flower sprays and leaves while the frost is still warm and soft, so that when the wax hardens these sprays are held firm.

· Sprinkle Silver glitter over it and lo you have a Frosted Candle ready for a party table.

Procedure to make a Flower Candle :

· You can make beautiful flowers with thin layers of wax. Take a flat plate, grease it and pour melted wax on the plate approximately, a layer 5mm thin. When it is half set, take a knife and cut small pieces in the shape of semi circles. Roll this pieces from one end to make a small rose flower.

· Place a primed wick in the middle. Make many such roses and decorate it under any other finished candle. Light shades will give the flower candles a beautiful look.

· We can also make green leaves with green colour wax, following the same method as the flower. Leaf shapes should be cut out from the thin layer of wax. If required, you can press veins on it with a knife and even shape the sides of the leaves by cutting it.

Point to remember : all shapes and cuts should be done when wax is still warm.

Sil:cool2:

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2011
  8. geetha satish

geetha satish Gold IL'ite

Creativity : Tortoises with walnut shells

hai friends
    i made these tortoises with walnut shells,used gold liner and silver bindis for decoration,have glance..........:) and express your views

9. geetha satish

geetha satish Gold IL'ite

re: Creativity : Tortoises with walnut shells

thank you
    i just increased the size,because they are in india and my mother sent the photos,sorry fot that :)

10. jayanthinkumar

jayanthinkumar Bronze IL'ite

Storewell Seat

This is a storewell where you can store your unwanted clothes, bedsheets and many many things. At the sametime if you put it in the drawing room this is a nice seat for your guests. In this I store somany clothes which I do not need often. I can save the cupboard space as well as keep the clothes from dust
    This is how you stitch it .
    Take a rexin piece about 1.25 metres. Cut 2 pieces around 20 inches. You can increase the diameter if you like. Find the exact circumfrence ie if the diameter is 20 cm, the circumfrence will be 2 * 3.14 * 10. Cut a piece about 10 to 12 inches width and length equal to circumfrence+ 1.5 inches.Cut one of the circular piece in the middle attach a sib. Join the 2 sides of the rectangular piece and attach the two circular piece on both sides of the rectangular piece. You can put the clothes inside it and fasten the sib. Place it with sib down cover it with a nice cloth. You seat is ready

Last edited: Jul 29, 2009