1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Mil Tantrums

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by cutepoojitha, Mar 11, 2022.

1. cutepoojitha

cutepoojitha Bronze IL'ite

Hi All,

It's just a vent post about MIL, I am a full time working mom with a elementary school and toddler kid working full time in USA with busy work schedule
    Before I start the thread I am a certified cook, nutrition and yoga certified
    So I m very particular about what goes into plate and diet
    My inlaws visit us frequently and for them food means carbohydrates, white food with sugar, they are healthy and they eat only carbs

She wants kids also to eat carbs because as per her they digest easily, if I say carbs it should be white rice, white flour, white sugar and any thing made of polished grains. Vegetables also she has 2-3 in list that should be eaten , snacks should be deep fried every single day. If I give som veggies to us or kids she keeps red face with tons of anger, I could clearly sense and she says you give some nonsense to kids let me fry some vadas

You should always give food that kids love not vegetables they r not tasty per her, I told my husband couple of times he told to have my kids veggies then she got offended and started shouting

I understand they are accoustomed to full carbs meals, for me breakfast should be with millet dosa/whole grain pan cakes/any whole grain for her polished flakes

She is not listening ,I just don't want to fight all the time, she fights with my husband too, I am totally ok if they eat what they want but constantly pointing our diet gives wrong impression to kids that white food is best food

I told her I m not involving in your food habits, I know they have poor eating habits but I don't involve, but she constantly nags before our friends that we avoid sugar and white food

Most of our friends know we are gluten free but there is no point in nagging 24x7