1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

MIL and her Blind Faith in Astrolgers

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by tuliplady, Jan 8, 2010.

1. tuliplady

tuliplady Gold IL'ite

I posted this elsewhere, but did not know that situation would change so much in pasr 24 hours. Today, for the first time,I am writing with tears in my eyes.

This is the situation, Me and my dh have been married for 2 years and known each other for 2 years before marriage. I have never had any major issues with ILs so far. My MIL is a nice lady, speaks well to me and my family. But there is a certain thing about her, she is extremely orthodox.She does not let me wear black clothes, is scared always that something evil might happen to the family and is always involved in doing some pooja or other.

She has been wanting us to have children immediately after marriage,despite knowing that I was a student then and both me and dh lived in different cities in US. She kept pestering me until my dh put his foot firmly down. So few months back, she sends this book through a friend of my dh which has some 25-30 pages of shloks and religious scripts for me to read.Upon asking, she mentioned that she showed our horsocope to an astrologer and the astrologer said that me and my dh will have issues in conceving. So she is very scared and wants me to read the book everyday.

This thing did not assume huge proportion until last night. Now both me and dh are ttc beginning this month. I did my first ever pregnancy test yesterday and it came out negative. I dont know what happened to me, but I asked my dh to bring that book so I can start reading it, since I was scared that what she said must indeed be true.