Make JUNK FOOD healthier!!!!!

Discussion in 'Healthy Living' started by shakambari, Jan 20, 2010.

1. shakambari

shakambari Platinum IL'ite

So what...

We love to indulge in junk food

but our body does not like them -Thats the problem...

So let me share some of my ideas to make junk food/fast food/starchy food /dine outs

healtier and tastier too!!!!

1. We all love noodles

To make it healthier Mix loads of veggies into your plate of noodles in the ratio 1:1.

Go for ATTA noodles instead of Maida noodles.

Sprinkle a helping of roasted flaxseeds on your plate of noodles.

2.Chaats-In fact they make a healthy snacking option provided-

You double up the onions/grated carrots ,Coriander leaves etc.

Restrict the potatoes,fried puris ,sweet chutney and sev.

3.Burgers are fine and healthy provided you grill the patty, add a few

more salad leaves,and go in for a wholegrain bun.

4.Desserts-Lessen the cream laden helpings. Be liberal with fruits and

nuts.

When binging on a cake -cut off the icing... It saves 60%the extra

calories.

5.Chips and crispies- Avoid deep fried ones -substitute them with

roasted or baked crispies.

Substitute fries with air popped corn minus butter.

Kaara pori(murmura), roasted papads,microwaved vadaams,

boiled masala peanuts and sundal make good

munchies.

6.When you go to eat out ,have a snack at home before you leave for

dinner/lunch.You tend to binge less .

When you dine out never miss the salad-always skip the dessert.have a

hearty meal.This way you take in lesser calories.

7.Never shop in a super market on an empty stomach.You tend to

load your cart with yummies.

Always buy extra helpings of fruits. This keeps your cravings for junk

under control.

8.Avoid aerated ,fizzy drinks-have smoothies of fresh fruit drinks.

9.Do not stalk your pantry with snacks/eats.Just buy meal sized portions.

10.Do not go for low sugar/low fat products.

You tend to overeat and lose calorie count.

Just have smaller helpings of regular food less frequently.

11.stuff your samosas(baked),puffs,with sprouts and oats mixed with regular vegetables.

These are some of the healthy eating tips I follow so that

I can have fun yet stay healthy too!

Last edited: Jan 20, 2010

2. Custard

Custard Gold IL'ite

Hello Shakambari,

Thanks for these Healthy tips :thumbsup
    esp., I liked the points 3-5 !!! :cheers

3. shakambari

Welcome to our thread with your first fb,Custard.

Thanx for your appreciation.

4. yenetishashi

yenetishashi Senior IL'ite

hi shakambari,

nice and very useful tips yaar,specially the tip of eating before going for shopping,when we go out for shopping, time just flows with out knwoing and we need more stamina and energy to walk and if we have kids then we need to take care of them as well.
    it would be good to follow all the tips fow good health.
    thanks a ton buddy:thumbsup.
    shashi.

5. Cindhuja

Cindhuja Gold IL'ite

Smart thread :thumbsup:thumbsup:thumbsup

Horlics has recently introduced a noodle variety called "Foodles"

It is a multi-grain noodle...I guess this is far better than atta-noodle

I tried it..And i like it..75% replica of maggi noodles..

you all try and update your feedbacks :cheers

Also the same brand has introduced a crunchy bar ..again a multi-grain bar(10Rs/-)..sure a great snack for the sweet tooth too :thumbsup

6. Prettina

Prettina Gold IL'ite

Aunty great tips.........

7. shakambari

Thanx for your fb,Shashi.

Happy to know you found the tip about shopping after a snack at home useful.

I usually try to follow it-It is kind to my wallet as well as my health.

8. shakambari

Cindhuja,

Thanx for your feedback and ideas.

Even I have seen the Foodles ad. But have not tried it.You have motivated me to add it to my shopping list.

Crunchy granola or muesli bars are good but -mind the sugar!

You can try substituting sugar with honey...in your desserts and cereals-makes it a whole lot healthier!

Last edited: Jan 22, 2010
  9. shakambari

Good to note you have found my tips useful,Prettina:)

10. anuusri

anuusri New IL'ite

Hi Shakambari,

Thanks for sharing a practicable healthy tips.
    Especially below one.