Kasturi Manjal Turmeric And It's Benefits

Discussion in 'Nature Cure' started by sunkan, Oct 5, 2007.

1. sunkan

DEAR renee,
    like i have mentioned here it is an aromatic herb from the turmeric family itself and very nice for the skin, it rejuvenates and helps the skin to shed dry cells, pimples, and other skin related problems, we in india use them from the birth of a child with all other products like besan, neeradal powder which is another powder made up of aromatic dried flowers, like champa, thazhampoo, henna flowers and yellow chrysanthemums are used to make it a wonder bath for the child.

so you can buy them in cut forms and if possible kindly powder them in the ural the pounding stone of old times to save it from the heat of mixie, so the shelf life will be more,it is also available in full form and looks more like a jar, rather than the sticks sticking out, a single pod on each root, and it smells good.
    i think most shops know what u r referring to in south india as no home is without this stock..hope to get a positive reply from you after the purchase, while here in india try to get the thazhampoo kumkumam famous only in madurai, which is another aromatic one to have on, the smell of thazhampoo, a plant that looks like aloe vera but not cacti, with a lot of thorns sometime we use them for varalakshmi nonmbu to plait ambals hair and even children decor with it..sunkan

2. sunkan

dear renee,
    one cannot give off handed remedy, there could be other problems like her health harmone and all those things, she has to correct that, but just only this u can use cucumber slices or tea bags to rest the eyes, and for some ladies this problem persist and u need to lighten them with sandal powder, turmeric and other natural bleaching agent..like besan and curd or lemon, apply for sometime and wash with warm water, lavender oil u need to be very careful as it is near the eyes, very little and away from the eyes. very cautious here..sunkan

3. Reenae

Reenae Bronze IL'ite

Dear Sunkan,

Thank you so much for that prompt response I do appreciate your help.

Kind Regards.

4. sgayathrii

sgayathrii New IL'ite

Hi sunkan,

I am not able see the kasturi Manjal and it benefits.:-(
    In which link should I and see?? Can you send that again?
    Eagerly waiting...

Thank you
    Gayathri

5. sunkan

gayathri,
    i have too many attachment in my name so had to remove some wish this could had been done by il itself, i seem to have removed the vital information one's ..here re posted for you..sunkan

6. RamyaVaradharajan

RamyaVaradharajan Bronze IL'ite

Hello Sunkan ji (ma'am)!

A wonderful write up that briefs up the importance of Turmeric.

Thank you for sharing and creating awareness!

7. sunkan

thanku ramya,
    nowadays people have forgotten the values of our old timer herbs so felt should be brought over..happy u liked it..sunkan

8. sunkan

Kasturi manjal, and turmeric: <!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75" coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" o:preferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe" filled="f" stroked="f"> <v:stroke joinstyle="miter"/> <v:formulas> <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0"/> <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0"/> <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1"/> <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2"/> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth"/> <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight"/> <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1"/> <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2"/> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth"/> <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0"/> <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight"/> <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0"/> </v:formulas> <v:path o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"/> <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"/> </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:300pt; height:214.5pt'> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\AJITVS~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip_image001.jpg" o:title="tumeric1"/> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->
    <!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shape id="_x0000_i1026" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:270pt;height:270pt'> <v:imagedata src="file:///C:\DOCUME~1\AJITVS~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip_image002.jpg" o:title="Turmeric"/> </v:shape><![endif]--><!--[if !vml]--><!--[endif]-->kasturi manjal

Our sages from old times have emphasized the use of turmeric in our life, now the navrathri tells u to share more of turmeric as it is beneficial in many ways. When babies are born they are given oil bath and the turmeric is massaged well to avoid all skin related problems, the mild hair growth is removed with turmeric and you don’t have to go for removing the facial hair or upper lip which are very fine ones if turmeric is regularly used..

The studies show the beneficiaries in the field of rheumatoid and arthritis, when boiled in water and a drink is made with milk and sugar it helps in the knee pain. All cold and phlegm are treated with milk and turmeric.

Some of the other turmeric benefits include protecting the liver, aiding in digestion and helping with irritable bowel syndrome

Pigmentation:
    regular use of turmeric with cucumber juice or lemon to the affected area leave it on for 15 minutes and wash, helps in maintaining an even tone and your skin color returning to normal.

Strengthens bones:

Drink a quarter glass of turmeric juice every night with milk, the best way to have it to take a ½ an inch piece of turmeric and boil it with half a glass of milk. Once the milk has turned yellow remove from fire and cool it to sip it.
    This cures many ailments; woman especially should drink this every night as it strengthens bones and reduces the risk of developing osteoporosis.

Softens the skin and makes it supple:
    We find the haldi ras before the wedding, turmeric and besan mix is applied to the entire body to soften it and make it smooth and glow, u need to do it regularly to get the required change.

While pregnant:
    Apply the mixture of turmeric and malaai or turmeric and curd to your stomach and waist before going for bath. Leave it on for 15 minutes and wash off. If desired, you could even apply this mixture after bathing. After you have washed off the soap, apply the malaai and haldi and leave it on for 5 minutes and wash off only with water. Gently wipe your stomach with the towel. The sooner you start this routine, the more supple and elastic your skin will become and after giving birth, you will not be left with unsightly stretch marks.

Fights diarrhea:
    Turmeric fights the bacteria that cause diarrhea, so the next time your stomach starts running reach for some haldi. A herbal tea will help in loose stools.

Inhibits cell damage:
    Excellent anti oxidant which essentially means that it stabilizes unstable oxygen molecules. These are know as free radicals, and are what cause damage to cells, leading to ageing and various other diseases such as cancer.

Some tips from mangayar malar:

The cracks on the heel :Can be remedied with turmeric ground with neem leaves applied as paste and left for sometime daily will ensure smooth heels.

Antiseptic : heat 250gms of coconut oil and once it is heated add 50gms of
    Kasturi manjal not the ordinary one it will form a top layer once cooled scrape and store to heal all wounds.

Anti ageing cream:
    Turmeric, white pepper, nelli mulli, neem seeds take equal quantities and powder them together mix it with milk and apply on the face the hanging folds will go away.

Avoid pimples :
    Regular use of turmeric with sandalwood powder applied as paste will cool the facial skin and help avoid pimples.

Dark skin around neck:
    Sandal wood oil and olive oil mix them in small drops or alternate with the sandal and olive and massage your neck to lighten the skin there, even turmeric along with besan and malai and lemon drops make great bleach.

Urination problem:
    Turmeric and palm sugar mixed and taken will help urine’s free flow.

CORN IN FEET:
    Turmeric powder, {neem leaves, heena or mehendi, kuppai meni leaves equal portion} grind to a smooth paste and apply on the corn, it helps to cure it.

dear duddu,
    the pic are not pasting but the matter is here..sunkan

9. padmavathi m

padmavathi m Silver IL'ite

dear sunkan

thank you for the thread about manjal and its benefits...................

padma

10. ashukrishna

ashukrishna Bronze IL'ite

hello sunkan...
    thanx a lot for ur valuable tips...
    cheers...1!!:)
    ashu