Janmashtami / Gokulashtami

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by Mythraeyi, Aug 24, 2007.

1. Mythraeyi

Mythraeyi Silver IL'ite

Janmashtami (Sri Krishna's birthday) falls on September 3 this year and is celebrated all over India. Also known as Gokulashtmi in the south. I have made this collage of photos of Krishna (some taken from this site - thanks!). Feel free to print out and use for your pooja as I will do the same here.

Mythraeyi

2. ramalav

ramalav New IL'ite

hi maithreyi,
    thanks for the photo. i have saved and applied in my desktop.
    and one more information...... my hubby was born on gokulashtami and v and the whole of india will celebrate his birthday too :2thumbsup: !!!!!

3. sunkan

4. ketal

ketal Bronze IL'ite

<TABLE style="WIDTH: 105pt; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=140 border=0 x:str><COLGROUP><COL style="WIDTH: 105pt; mso-width-source: userset; mso-width-alt: 5120" width=140><TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; WIDTH: 105pt; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" width=140 height=17>Hi Sunkan
    we are every year ae now 56 bhog(prasad) for jamastmi pl send to me any new type prasad recipes
    we are always try now.

Sukhadi
    <TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" height=17>Besan Laddu<TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" height=17>Til Papdi<TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" height=17>Chiiki-til Ground Nut<TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" height=17>coconut barfi<TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" height=17>penda<TR style="HEIGHT: 12.75pt" height=17><TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ece9d8; BORDER-TOP: #ece9d8; BORDER-LEFT: #ece9d8; BORDER-BOTTOM: #ece9d8; HEIGHT: 12.75pt; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent" height=17>farsan sev ,ghadhia,Cheda etc
    ketal

5. kavinarayan

kavinarayan Bronze IL'ite

krishna jayanthi

my hubby's family is very traditional in following rituals....i also come from a very traditional family but as per rituals my mother and grandmother have made few changes.....my mother in law wants me to follow the exact traditions as thought by her mother....the sadest part is i live with my mother in lawbut she does not teach me anything ...
    i ask before starting...she say do it to your convenience...but when iam done with my preparations she scolds me so much (and my mom too for changing the methods)and finally i end up with a long face.....now that krishna jayanthi is here..i want to know the exact procedure...last year i decorated baby krishna's statue,then i made rava ladoo,murukku and pongal...1 more special is mixing nuts and dryfruits along with butter and thats very special for krishna...then apart from the normal maavilai thoranam i put kolam and krishna's foot prints(with rice flour mixture) till pooja room....then we had the pooja...please tell me if anything else has to be done in the traditional way..i don't want mishaps this year..kindly advice

thank you

kaviBow

6. lakshmi1965

lakshmi1965 New IL'ite

Rare Slogam for Sri Krishna Jayanthi with meaning in Tamil

Dear Members,

I have joined today and happen to see a lot of slogams posted by Ms. Chitra, Inspired by that I posted below a slogam with tamil meaning. I pray to god that all of you should get the grace of Lord Krisha.

Special Note to Chitra: Dear Chitvish, I read all your slogams and took a print out and believe me it gave me such a divine feeling, inspired by that I have posted a slogam below on Lord Krishna as Krishna Jayanthi or Janmashtami is round the corner.

Mahalakshmi (Lakshmi1965)

வசுதேவசுதம் தேவம் கம்ஸசாணூர மர்த்தனம்
    தேவகி பரமானந்தம் கிருஷ்ணம் வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

வசுதேவ குமாரரும் கம்ச சாணூரர்களை வதைத்தவரும், மாதா தேவகிக்குப் பரமானந்தத்தை அளித்தவருமான ஜகத்குரு ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

2. அதஸீபுஷ்ப சங்காசம் ஹாரநூபுர சோபிதம் |
    ரத்ன கங்கண கேயூரம் கிருஷ்ணம்வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

அதசீபுஷ்பம் (ஆளி ஆமணக்கு) அணிந்து கொள்பவரும், ஹாரம் நூபுரம் ஆகியவற்றால் அலங்கரிக்கப்பட்டிருப்பவரும், ரத்தினமயமான கங்கணத்தை மேற்கரத்தில் வங்கியாக அணிந்திருப்பவரும், ஜகத்குருவுமான ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

3. குடிலாலக சம்யுக்தம் பூர்ணசந்த்ர நிபானனம் |
    விலாச குண்டலதரம் கிருஷ்ணம் வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

சுருள் சுருளான கேசத்தினையுடையவரும், முழுநிலவின் ஒளியைப் போன்று ஒளிர்பவரும், பெரிய குண்டலங்களை அணிந்திருப்பவரும் ஜகத்குருவுமான ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

4. மந்தார கந்த சம்யுக்தம் சாருஹாசம் சதுர்புஜம் |
    பர்ஹிபிஞ்சாவ சூடாங்கம் கிருஷ்ணம் வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

மந்தார புஷ்பவாசனையில் மிளிர்பவரும், புன்சிரிப்புடன் கூடிய முகமுள்ளவரும், நான்கு கரங்களையுடையவரும், நீலமயில் தோகைகளுடன் கூடிய கொண்டையணிந்தவரும், ஜகத்குருவுமாகிய கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

5. உத்புல்ல பத்மபத்ராக்ஷம் நீல ஜீமூதசன்னிபம் |
    யாதவானாம் சிரோரத்னம் கிருஷ்ணம்வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

மலர்ந்த தாமரைப் புஷ்பங்களைப் போல் விகசிக்கும் கண்களையுடையவரும், நீருண்ட மேகவண்ணரும், யாதவ வம்சத்தவரின் சிரோ ரத்னம் போன்றவரும் ஜகத்குருவுமான ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

6.ருக்மிணி கேளி சம்யுக்தம் பீதாம்பர சோபிதம் |
    அவாப்த துளசிகந்தம் கிருஷ்ணம்வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

ருக்மிணி தேவியுடன் கேளிக்கை விளையாட்டுகளில் ஈடுபட்டிருப்பவரும், பீதாம்பரதாரியும், துளசியின் மணத்தினாலேயே ஆகர்ஷிக்கப்படுபவரும், ஜகத்குருவுமான ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

7. கோபிகானாம் குசத்வந்த்வ குங்குமாங்கித வக்ஷசாம் |
    ஸ்ரீநிகேதம் மஹேஷ்வாசம் கிருஷ்ணம் வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

கோபிகைகள் மார்போடு அணைத்து ஆலிங்கனம் செய்து கொண்டதால் ஏற்பட்ட குங்கும நிறமுடையதாகத் திகழும் மார்பை உடையவரும், திருமகளின் வாசஸ்தலமானவரும், மஹேஷ்வாசரும் (பெரிய வில்லையுடையவர்.) ஜகத்குருவுமான ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

8. ஸ்ரீ வத்சாங்கம் மஹோரஸ்கம் வனமாலா விராஜிதம் |
    சங்க சக்ரதரம் தேவம் கிருஷ்ணம் வந்தே ஜகத்குரும் ||

ஸ்ரீ வத்ஸம் என்ற மருவையுடையவரும், வனமாலை புஷ்பங்களை அணிந்திருப்பவரும், சங்கு சக்ரம் ஆகியவற்றைத் தரித்தவரும், மிகப்பெரிய தேவரும், ஜகத்குருவுமான ஸ்ரீ கிருஷ்ணரை நமஸ்கரிக்கிறேன்.

கிருஷ்ணாஷ்டகமிதம் புண்யம் ப்ராதருத்தாய ய படேத் |
    கோடிஜன்மகிருதம் பாபம் ஸ்மரணேன விநஸ்யதி ||
    கிருஷ்ணாஷ்டகம் என்ற இந்தப் புண்ணியமான ஸ்தோத்திரத்தை

எவர் தினமும் காலையில் படிக்கிறார்களோ, அவர்கள் கோடி ஜன்மங்களில் செய்த பாவங்கள் கூட அழிந்து விடுகின்றன. எண்ணியன ஈடேறுகின்றன. கோரிய யாவும் அளிப்பான் ஸ்ரீகிருஷ்ணன்.

7. Chitvish

Re: krishna jayanthi

Dear Kavinarayan,
    Please post your queries in already started relevant threads. Please do not start a thread for every post.
    Chithra..

8. MrignayniBansal

MrignayniBansal Senior IL'ite

Namaste Ladies,
    I also celebrate Janamastami with full of enthusiam and lots of Love.My whole family do fasting on Janmashtami.
    My mother does pooja on that auspicious day.Even She swings Lord Krishna at 12'clock in the midnight.It is believed that Lord Krishna born On Janmashtami at 12'O Clock in the midnight.
    On janmashtami I usually cook Sabudane ki Khichdi.My family love Sabudaane ki Khichdi very much.

How you all celebrate Janmashtami ?

9. PandeyKranti

PandeyKranti New IL'ite

Hi ladies,

Hope all of you are doing good!

As we all knows.Krishna is an avtaar Vishnu.Janamshtami = Janam (birth)+ ashtami(eighth).I also celebrate Janmastami.We do fast on this holy occasion of Janamshtami.
    But why some people celebrate it in the midnight at 12'clock?