Interview help please.

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by soumyapr, Dec 31, 2012.

1. soumyapr

soumyapr Senior IL'ite

Hello friends,

I am attending interviews for job change. Please help me with some questions:
    What is a good response to Why do you want to leave current company?
    My reasons are low salary and the fact that at my current company I will be doing the same type of work for a long time. I am a content developer and want to work in different domains to get experience. How much of this info should I reveal in the interview. Can any of this work against me?

I am looking for a new job where there is scope for growth. Currently I can get only entry level jobs, as I do not have much experience. But I want to make sure that I do not stay entry level forever in my new company, and also that I get to learn new things and work on interesting projects. Can I ask the interviewer about prospects of growth? Or as an entry level candidate I should assume that growth will take 2-3 years.

I have been to many interviews one year back and I feel I was discriminated against due to my age. Many interviewers had this doubt that would I be able to work 9-5 at my age (I am 32). When asked if I have any questions, can I ask the interviewer that do they see my age as a hindrance for hiring me? Or would it be incorrect? I have also added my age in my resume this time, so that if anyone has reservations, they can eliminate it at that stage itself. Perhaps that's why I am not getting calls. :-(

Can I refuse to answer any personal questions that make me uncomfortable?
    What is a better way to deal with too personal questions?

1 person likes this.

2. gtiwari

gtiwari Senior IL'ite

Take training for attending interview,learn how to answer a question for which you do not know the answer.

3. soumyapr

soumyapr Senior IL'ite

thanks gtiwari. I will see if I can find any such training.