1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Info about migrating to Toronto, Canada from India

Discussion in 'Indians in Canada' started by starryeyes, Jan 23, 2013.

1. starryeyes

starryeyes New IL'ite

Hi,

My husband and I are thinking about migrating to Toronto, Canada from India. He's a software engineer and a Program Manager with 8.5 yrs of experience. I am a Tech Writer with 5.2 yrs of exp. We have dreams of moving to Canada, but are not sure of the appropriate way to go about it. Should we try an onsite project through his company via the temporary work visa, in such a situation as his dependent wil I be able to work? Are there good jobs available for a Technical Writer? OR should we apply for the Permanent Residency (PR) visa to come to Canada. If so, how long (in terms of months and years) will it take to apply and get a PR visa? What are the requirements and is it a good idea for both of us to apply for a PR?

Kindly read through my requirements and please let me know on these lines. I am sure as residing in Canada already, you will have a clear idea about the procedures, details and also have information of how things work in the country.

Thank you.

2. anmolhai

anmolhai Platinum IL'ite

From what I know PR applications are on hold right now. It will be great if your dh gets a job but yes if he gets the working visa then you being his dependent won't be able to work . I don't know about the requirements for PR , sorry . Also no idea about jobs for Tech writer. All the best!!!

3. starryeyes

starryeyes New IL'ite

Hi, thanks a lot for replying. Pls let me know what other type of visa can we apply to immigrate to Canada. And, regarding the temporary work visa, i had read somewhere that the dependent will also happen to get a work permit. Pls let me know on this since I want to be working if we move to Canada via the temporary work visa. Thank you.

4. krishlakshmi

krishlakshmi Silver IL'ite

Hi Anmlohi