1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

In-laws verbally abusive and intruding.

Discussion in 'Relationship With In-Laws' started by asuitablegirl, Feb 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asuitablegirl

asuitablegirl Gold IL'ite

hi ladies,

i've read your posts for a while now, this is my 1st time posting. i have a big problem, and i admire the advice you've given others, if you can, please help me too.

i've been married to DH since 2007, love marriage. i'm 20, DH is 32. the problem is, last year my inlaws came and stayed for four months. i like them and try to please them, but it's very hard for DH and me. i'm a full time student and he's working but his job at a c-store pays very less. the inlaws demand money, last time $1,000 cash plus clothes, dinner out, entertainment, etc for 4 months straight, total came to more than $5,000. If we had the money, I would give to them, but we don't.

they stayed with us in our 1 bedroom apartment starting from two week before we were married. when my husband went to work, they kept telling me about my DH's ex-wife... her favorite colors, how she dressed, how pretty she was, even about the honeymoon suite that they got her and my DH. they go on and on about how in love my DH was with her. last time there was another indian girl accross the street from us, i offered to take them anywhere they wanted to go, but they never wanted to go with me, only with the girl accross the street.

my mil kept telling me that DH and i should divorce, that hurt very much. when me and DH were talking in bedroom she burst through the door and tried to hit me. DH said nothing to her.

Every month the phone bill would come in $150 over due to mil and she wanted to go shopping every day. I had to stay in my room for sometimes two days at a time, and my DH would bring me my dinner, it was like prison. I wanted to kill myself, but didn't want my family to suffer.