If You Were Born In British India (under British Rule)

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Rihana, Jan 19, 2017.

1. Rihana

Would you have participated in the struggle for freedom? At what level? Huge contribution? Small protests in daily life style? Something in between?

There were many common men and women who fought but didn't make history. Their stories are gone with them, though their contribution no doubt helped.

Timepass question - if you were born in British India, do you think you'd have participated in the freedom struggle? At what level? In what way?

sindmani and KashmirFlower like this.

2. Rihana

I like to dream that I would plan and be part of something audacious, that would make headlines and show the British the power of the natives. Something like Rang De Basanti.

3. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

I wish I had thought to ask my grandparents about this before they left us. The only thing I remember is hearing about how my great-grandmother used to bemoan the departure of the British because she could no longer get lily-white flour in the market. :grin:

sindmani and Rihana like this.
  4. Akanksha1982

Sure I would have and I did. I was Rani Lakshmi bai in my previous life!!!

5. luvmygirlnbean

luvmygirlnbean Silver IL'ite

Haha my husband always Jokes ( actually come to think of it,he mentions quite seriously ) that I could have been Jhansi Lakshmi bhai in past life :relaxed:
    And to answer the question , yes - absolutely I would have participated in the revolt against Britishers with full gusto .
    It's hard for me to see injustice / pain before my eyes and I always stand against it be it how small it could be:grimacing:

6. Rihana

When I was searching on the topic, I came across many less know and totally unknown names of freedom fighters. Very inspiring to read the names of female freedom fighters who were regular women from regular families.

7. luvmygirlnbean

luvmygirlnbean Silver IL'ite

Yes , there could have been many unsung heroes :( . Just looked up and found this

Top 12 Women Freedom Fighters of India - Listaka

Thank you - it was refreshing to read about them and also made me feel sad that womens ' struggle was not highlighted in our history books atleast while I was learning .

8. ashima10

ashima10 Platinum IL'ite

I am pretty sure i was "Durga Bhabhi " :) right wing .